Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Alister Clark Stakes 2023 Tips, News, Winners and Past Results

Alister Clark Stakes is a Group 2 race held at Moonee Valley Racecourse over 2040 metres annually. Prize money for the event is worth $300,000

Winners and Past Results for the Alister Clark Stakes

The Alister Clark Stakes is a Moonee Valley Racing Club Group 2 Australian horse race for three year-old colts and geldings competed under set-weight with penalties condition.

2023 Alister Clark Stakes Information

Date Of The Alister Clark Stakes: 17/3/23

Time Of The Alister Clark Stakes: TBA

Venue For The Alister Clark Stakes: Moonee Valley Racecourse

How To Live Stream The Alister Clark Stakes

To live stream the Alister Clark Stakes, Sign Up To TAB and watch the race for free.

How To Bet On The Alister Clark Stakes

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Alister Clark Stakes: Ladbrokes

My 2023 Alister Clark Stakes Betting Tips

1. TBA

2. TBA

3. TBA

More Details About The Alister Clark Stakes

The event is held at the Moonee Valley Racecourse in mid-March on the same day as the Group 1 William Reid Stakes. The race is held in honour of Alister Clark, the founder chairman of the MVRC. He was also a master of Oaklands Hunt Club between 1901 and 1908 and an eminent rose breeder in the country.

The Alister Clark Stakes is held on a Friday night under lights with quality colts and geldings vying for the $300,000 prize money.

Between 1987 and 1997 horses covered a distance of 2040 meters after which it was shortened to 1600 meters. However, since 2010 it has reverted back to its previous distance of 2040 meters, the same as the Group 1 WS Cox Plate, the premier event of the year.

The race is an excellent form guide for the Group 1 William Reid Stakes run at the same track a week later. Zabeel, Durbridge, Naturalism, Blevic, and Titanic Jack are among the recent notable winners to become formidable champions.

The Group 3 CS Hayes Stakes at Flemington attracts runners for the Alister Clark Stakes in addition to the Group 2 Autumn Classic at Caulfield. Lieutenant, the 2005 champion scored a CS Hayes Stakes/Alister Clark Stakes double while Spinney, the winner in 2006 also picked up the Autumn Classic prior to the race.

Amiable won the first Alister Clark Stakes held in 1939. The event was a principal race that was upgraded to Group 2 in 1979. Domesky, the 2011 winner ran fourth in the Autumn Classic.

Over the years the race has been conducted over various distances between 1600 and 2040 meters. Sometime, winner of the 1963 Caulfield Cup also won the Alister Clark Stakes in 1963 and 1964. Family of Man was locked in a dead heat with Surround in 1977 and followed it up with a victory in 1979.

Like all other races on Victorian tracks, racing takes place in a counter clockwise direction. The Moonee Valley track is located 6 km from the Melbourne central business district. The track has the shortest finishing straight of 173 meters in Australia. The fastest recorded winning time in the Alister Clark Stakes was 1 minute 31 seconds, a distinction held by Mr. Murphy the 2001 winner

Alister Clark Stakes Past Winners

2022Prix De Tum
2019Global Exchange
2018Cliff's Edge
2015Chill Party 
2012Highly Recomended
2009Pre Eminence
2008Sound Journey
2007Casino Prince
2004Speedy King
2003Titanic Jack
2002Royal Code
2001Mr. Murphy
1999Dignity Dancer
1997Flak Jacket
1996Scenic Royale
1989Bar Landy
1987Vo Rogue
1986Lockley's Tradition
1985King Phoenix
1984Penny Edition
1983My Evit
1982Fearless Pride
1981My Brown Jug
1980Bit Of A Skite
1979Family Of Man
1978not held
1977Family Of Man
1976Leica Show
1975not held
1973The Frigate
1969Begonia Belle
1968Heroic Stone
1967not held
1966Bowl King
1965Sir Dane
1960Stormy Passage
1959Wiggle 5
1958Baron Boissier
1957Mac's Amber
1955St. Joel
1954Gallant Archer
1952Step Aside
1950Comic Court
1948Money Moon
1947St. Fairy
1943Athol Belle
1942Tranquil Star
Prince Ronald
1940Pure Gold

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Place a TOTE win bet on Races 1-6 at 3 Tracks, run 2nd or 3rd, get up to $50 back in Bonus Bets!
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. First Tote win bet placed online. See promotions page for full T&C ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers