Aami Vase

Winners and Past Results for the Aami Vase (Moonee Valley Vase)

The AAMI Vase (Moonee Valley Vase) is a Moonee Valley Racing Club Group 2 Australian horse race for 3 year olds and is run under set weight conditions.

It is contested over a distance of 2040 metres and is held annually at Moonee Valley Racecourse in Melbourne on W.S Cox Plate Day.

The 2040 meters race attracts prize money worth $200,000 in addition to a $15,000 trophy. Prior to 1993, the AAMI Vase was known as several different names. The event was known as The Herald Vase in the 1980's where the field ran over a distance of 1600 meters. The distance was increased to 2040 meters in 1986. In 1991 and 1992 the event was held as the ‘BMW Vase'.

The AAMI Vase was a listed race from 1983 to 1988 where Centaine won the inaugural event. In 1989, it was classified as a Group 3 race and finally achieved Group 2 status in 1997. Race goers have an impressive field of three year olds to choose from on one of the most significant race days in the Moonee Valley calendar.

For many top runner, the AAMI Vase is the perfect preparation for the Group 1 Victoria Derby, the premier race for 3 year olds during the Melbourne Cup carnival.

The Group 2 Bill Stutt Stakes, Group 3 Norman Robinson Stakes, and the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas are among the major races from which the top runners enter the AAMI Vase.

Efficient's five consecutive in the 2006 season included the AAMI Vase and an impressive win in the VRC Derby. Efficient went on to become a legend after a major victory in the 2007 Melbourne Cup. Other notable horses to be credited with a double were Helenus in 2002 and Plastered in 2004. Whobegotyou, winner of the 2008 AAMI Vase came into the race after consecutive victories in the Bill Stutt Stakes and Caulfield Guineas, followed by a close second in the VRC Derby.

Right from its inception the AAMI Vase has always fielded quality runners. Among the notable winners was Naturalism in 1991 while Blevic rewrote racing history books by recording the fastest time in 1994.

Naturilsim retired as the world's richest racehorse in 1996 with over $9 million in prize money. Mossman, one of the classy runners and champion sires of all times won the trophy in 1998.

For punters, the AAMI Vase will always be a race to watch keenly in a lead up to the VRC Derby.

Year Aami Vase Winners
2018 Stars Of Carrum
2017 Aloisia
2016 Sacred Elixir
2015 Jameka
2014 Moonovermanhattan
2013 Savvy Nature
2012 Super Cool
2011 Manawanui
2010 Rekindled Interest
2009 Hanks
2008 Whobegotyou
2007 Marching
2006 Efficient
2005 Duelled
2004 Plastered
2003 Kempinsky
2002 Helenus
2001 Ustinov
2000 Skalato
1999 Diatribe
1998 Mossman
1997 Gold Guru
1996 Alfa
1995 Donar
1994 Blevic
1993 Zaremba
1992 Kenny's Best Pal
1991 Naturalism
1990 Rockets Galore
1989 Zamoff
1988 Big Grey Roo
1987 Crush
1986 Raveneaux
1985 Caledonian Boy
1984 Brash Son
1983 Centaine
*© 2019 Pro Group Racing - Gamble Responsibly 18+ Is Gambling A Problem For You? Call Gambling Help On 1800 858 858 Or Visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au

Offers For New ACC Only, Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover Requirements & Expiry Period Apply. See T&Cs On Website

Subscribe to our mailing list and receive a Free Racing Ebook