Sandown Guineas Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Sandown Guineas run at the Sandown Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Sandown Guineas

Winners and Past Results for the Sandown Guineas.

One of the important mile races for three year old horses towards the end of the Melbourne spring racing carnival is the Group 2 Sandown Guineas hosted by Melbourne Racing Club.

The event is run under set weights at Sandown Racecourse in November with a tidy sum of $250,000 awaiting the winner. The Group 2 Sandown Classic and Group 3 Sandown Stakes and Eclipse Stakes are also on the day's race card.

Horses may consider competing in the Sandown Guineas after finishing strongly in the Group 3 Carbine Club Stakes held at Flemington. The Sandown track suits stronger milers that have the ability to tackle the uphill home stretch that has most often been the deciding factor between top liners and average horses. The 1200 M Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes held at Flemington in October and the 2000 M Group 3 Norman Robinson Stakes at Caulfield may also serve as warm up races.

Niagara, runner up in the 2011 Sandown Guineas came into the race after finishing strongly in third place in the Robinson Stakes although he was unplaced in the Group 1 AAMI Victoria Derby in his next start preceding the Sandown Guineas. Third placed Galah had an incredible run leading up to the event, winning the 1400 Listed Australia Stakes at Caulfield and the Group 3 Carbine Club Stakes on his way here.

Better performing gallopers may return after a short spell to tackle a number of group races which could begin with the Group 2 Royal Sovereign Stakes at Randwick or the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse in February followed by the Group 1 Randwick Guineas in March.

Average three year olds who aren't of Group 1 quality have an opportunity to pick up the pace in the Sandown Guineas to add to their kitty during the spring carnival. Being the last black type event during spring the race could be taken out by a proven champion or a new entrant seeking to make it to the big stage the following year.

The Sandown Guineas began as a listed race in 1957 and was promoted to Group 2 in 1979. Some of the notable winners include Durbridge in 1990, Sedation in 1998, Scenic Warrior in 2000, Dextrous in 2002, and Kidnapped in 2009.

Punters ought to note that the race has favoured geldings over the past decade with 7 titles to their credit which includes So Swift in 2011.

Year Sandown Guineas Winners
2020 Allibor
2019 Pretty Brazen
2018 Ringerdingding
2017 Villermont
2016 Morton's Fork
2015 Mahuta
2014 Petrology
2013 Paximadia
2012 Tatra
2011 So Swift
2010 Pressday
2009 Kidnapped
2008 Caymans
2007 Schilling
2006 Sender
2005 Cayambe
2004 Binding
2003 Pay Keys
2002 Dextrous
2001 Moon Dragon
2000 Scenic Warrior
1999 Over
1998 Sedation
1997 Special Dane
1996 King Ivor
1995 Peep On The Sly
1994 Baryshnikov
1993 Voting
1992 Navy Seal
1991 Star Video
1990 Durbridge
1989 Stargazer
1988 Blixen
1987 Ascot Lane
1986 Sea Swell
1985 Shankhill Lass
1984 Brave Salute
1983 Mr. Ironclad
1982 Cossack Prince
1981 Galleon
1980 Polar Air
1979 Snowing
1978 Just A Steal
1977 So Called
1976 Opposition
1975 Better Draw
1974 Shiftmar
1973 Taj Rossi
1972 Carnation For Me
1971 Andros
1970 Abdul
1969 Top Flat
1968 Always There
1967 Begonia Belle
1966 Hialeah
1965 Fire Band
1964 Light Fingers
1963 Ripa
1962 Birthday Card
1961 Indian Summer
1960 Lady Sybil
1959 Twilight Glow
1958 But Beautiful
1957 Orient

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers