Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

PB Lawrence Stakes 2022 Tips, Betting Odds, Past Winners & Results

PB Lawrence Stakes is a Group 2 race held at Caulfield Racecourse over 1400 metres annually. Prize money for the event is worth $300,000

Winners and Past Results for the PB Lawrence Stakes (JJ Liston Stakes)

The PB Lawrence Stakes, was once called the JJ Liston Stakes, is a Group 2 race hosted by Melbourne Racing Club held annually at Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne in August.

PB Lawrence Stakes Race Details

Date: 13/8/22

Time: TBA

Racecourse: Caulfield

Race Distance: 1400m

Conditions: TBA

Prize Money: $300,000

How To Bet On The PB Lawrence Stakes

Our Top 3 Recommended Online Bookmakers To Bet With For The PB Lawrence Stakes:




PB Lawrence Stakes Betting Tips

1. TBA

2. TBA

3. TBA

When Is The PB Lawrence Stakes: 13/8/22

What Time Is The PB Lawrence Stakes: TBA

Where Is The PB Lawrence Stakes: Caulfield Racecourse

How To Live Stream The PB Lawrence Stakes

To live stream the PB Lawrence Stakes, TAB Account Holders can watch the race live.

More Details About The PB Lawrence Stakes

The weight for age race is for horses 3 years old and above. The distance covered in the PB Lawrence Stakes is 1400 metres, with prize money worth $300,000 reserved for the winner. Above average sprinters and gallopers have an advantage in this weight for age race where females carry around 55.5 kgs while males make the trip with 57 kg to 59 kgs.

The PB Lawrence Stakes is held on the same day as the 1200 M Group 3 Cockram Stakes for mares. Since the race is held early in August the event may not attract top liners who may prefer to prepare for the Caulfield and Flemington spring carnivals. The 2011 edition of the race was held as the MRC PB Lawrence Stakes and will continue with that name for now.

The PB Lawrence Stakes was first held in 1949 as a Principal Race and remained so until 1978 when it was granted Group 2 status. Between 1949 and 1967, it was run over a distance of 10 furlongs and was then reduced to 1400 metres. The Group 3 Bletchingly Stakes held a week earlier at the same Caulfield track under similar conditions serves as a form guide for the PB Lawrence Stakes.

The best performers may fancy their chances in the Group 2 Memsie Stakes over the same distance, a fortnight after the JJ Liston Stakes. Runner up in 2009, Whobegotyou came back to win the 2011 PB Lawrence Stakes after a spell and then ran third in the 1600 M Group 2 Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. Since many horses come in from a spell, picking a winner for this race is usually a tough proposition.

Some horses may also saddle up for the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes over 1600 metres at Flemington and the 1800 M Group 1 Underwood Stakes at Caulfield later in the season. Winner of the 2007 JJ Liston Stakes, the formidable Apache Cat, won the Bletchingly Stakes on his way to the PB Lawrence Stakes and then finished runner up in the Makybe Diva Stakes in what was a start of a glorious season ahead running into 2008.

In 2010, Shoot Out continued his fine form from the Bletchingly Stakes and then ran third in the Group 2 Memsie Stakes and Dato Chin Nam Stakes at Caulfield. The Group 2 Tristarc Stakes and the Group 1 Myer Classic may also suit some of the stronger contenders after the JJ Liston Stakes. After finishing third in the 2009 PB Lawrence Stakes, Typhoon Tracy went on to win both races later in the carnival.

PB Lawrence Stakes Past Winners

2021Sierra Sue
2019Mystic Journey
2016Miss Rose De Lago
2014Star Rolling
2013Puissance De Lune
2012Second Effort
2010Shoot Out
2009Predatory Pricer
2008Light Fantastic
2007Apache Cat
2006Pompeii Ruler
2005Lad Of The Manor
2004Regal Roller
2003Super Elegant
2001Le Zagaletta
2000Skoozi Please
1997Happy Star
1993Bundy Lad
1992Jim's Mate
1991Dr. Grace
1989Kairau Lad
1988My Steely Dan
1987Military Plume
1986Luther's Luck
1985King Delamere
1984Bow Mistress
1981Sovereign Red
1980Grey Sapphire
1978So Called
1977Vice Regal
1976Bold Mayo
1975Wave King
1974Brandy Balloon
1970Regal Vista
1967Stellar Belle
1966Tobin Bronze
1962My Peak
1960My Peak
1959Gay Saba
1956Cyklon King
1954Clear Springs
1949One Up

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Races 1-6 Horse Runs 2/3 Up To $50 Bonus
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. This Saturday 2/7/22 All 3 tracks, First Tote win bet placed onlin ...More
bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia
Highly Recommended
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing
Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Unibet AU Logo
Racing Bet
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
T+C Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Check All Offers