Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes

The Group 3 Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes is a gender-restricted race for fillies and mares four years old and above. It is run a Caulfield Racecourse under the auspices of the Melbourne Racing Club.

The trip, as of 2021, is 1200 metres, is run under set weight plus penalty conditions and has a prizemoney pool of $160,000. It is not the most famous race on the Australian Thoroughbred racing calendar and it might be tempting to think the prizemoney pool is not large enough to attract top runners, but the winner takes $96,000, so it is a race worth winning, while finishing second finds the prize dropping to $28,000.

Up to 16 fillies or mares can participate. The race is the final race on the card for 2021 on the day that sees the Group 1 C F Orr Stakes as the highlight of the meeting. The two races have been run at the same meeting since 2003.

History of the Group 3 Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes

The race is a newer one, having jumped for the first time in 2000.

It was known that first year as the Hyderabad Race Club Plate. It switched to the Hyderabad Race Club Stakes in 2001. The next year of 2002 found it under the name of the Hyderabad Race Club Handicap. For 2003 only, it was the Moduline Plate, before returning to the Hyderabad Race Club Stakes.

From 2012 through 2015, it was the Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes, doubtless because everyone was fatigued from typing Hyderabad so often. It was further simplified in 2016 to just the Belmaine Stakes, but has since returned Geoffrey’s name to the event, possibly to avoid confusion with some other Belmaine race, but it turns out that there is no other race using any Belmaine name. 

We checked thoroughly, because Caulfield and the MRC often seems bent on race name duplication, judging from all the Blue Diamond this and that or the Blue some other precious stone. 

The Group 3 Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes has always been a 1200-metre sprinter’s race, save for the year 2002, when it was made into a mile.

From 2001 through 2006, it was a Listed quality race and then was lifted to Group 3 in 2007.

Race Venue

Caulfield Racecourse in Melbourne is located at Gate 22 Station Street, Caulfield East, Victoria 3145. It is easily accessed by a variety of ground transportation, as it is just 13 kilometres northeast of the Melbourne CBD. 

Known as “The Heath,” the early years, back in the 1800s, very nearly saw the course abandoned and turned into a graveyard. These days, with in-person race attendance dwindling, it can seem like a graveyard. 

Racing History of the Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes

Make no mistake; this is not the Caulfield Cup or anything near. As the last race of the meeting for 2021, those that have made the trek to the track are mostly headed for the turnstiles by this time.

As a gender-restricted race, they wisely chose fillies and mares, but the plain fact that it is for ages four years and over tells you that this is not the sort of race where you are going to find the Black Caviars, Winxes, or even Miss Andretti. 

Speaking of Miss Andretti, she holds the Caulfield course record for 1200 metres, which she established in 2007 while winning the Group 1 Newmarket about a month after the Geoffrey Belmaine is run. 

Some racing sites make it easy to think that she was the winner of the Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes, until you pause and realize that Miss Andretti was taken from David Mueller and handed to Lee Freedman in autumn of 2006. Freeman took a horse that looked average at best and turned her into a Group 1 monster. After Freeman took over, Miss Andretti won or placed in eight consecutive races, including four Group 1s.

As for the other winners, the inaugural race was won by Londolozi in 2000. She won a couple of Group 3s, had a few good runs in some Group 2s, but only tried one Group 1 in a respectable career when she made 49 starts. 

Beaded won in 2011. The daughter of Lonhro won over $1.6 million dollars, she had some nice runs in a couple of Group 1 races, and she won the Doomben 10,000 in May of 2011.

Tycoon Tara won in 2015, just after she had won two and run second in two races. Next up, she won the Group 3 Mannerism Stakes. She won a couple of Group 2 races and in her next to last race, she won the Group 1 Tatt’s Tiara at Doomben, where one of those she beat was In Her Time, but despite a top trainer and several top jockeys, Tycoon Tara never quite made it into the first echelon. 

The only two-time winner of the Geoffrey Belmaine was Prussian Vixen in 2017 and 2018. She ran benchmark races for most of her career and her 2017 win was her first win at Group level. She did not win again until she backed in 2018. She was field filler for her next race, the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate, where she finished dead last. 


The Group 3 Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes is one of those Group 3s that seldom attracts much attention. It is the realm of older fillies and mares, not that four is old, that have not scorched the turf.

Only a few have been able to move up in grade and have success. 

The lure of a big payday for winning the race does help to get some decent fillies and mares to participate, but beyond Tycoon Tara and Beaded, there has not been much in the way of significant winners of the race. 

As the closing race on C F Orr Stakes day, it is a decent race and it is quite nice of the MRC to have a Group 3 race for fillies and mares four years and older.

Year Geoffrey Belmaine Stakes Winners
2021 Probabeel
2020 Sylvia's Mother
2019 Princess Of Queens
2018 Prussian Vixen
2017 Prussian Vixen
2016 Tuscan Sling
2015 Tycoon Tara
2014 A Time For Julia
2013 There's Only One
2012 Psychologist
2011 Beaded
2010 Velocitea
2009 Annesong
2008 Lucky Diva
2007 Coniston Gem
2006 Beautiful Gem
2005 Glamour Puss
2004 Given
2003 Skewiff
2001 Typhoon Billie
2000 Super Sequel

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers