Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

David Jones Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

David Jones Cup run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the David Jones Cup

Winners and Past Results for the David Jones Cup. See Coongy Handicap.

The David Jones Cup also known as the Coongy Handicap, is a Melbourne Racing Club Group 3 Australian open handicap horse race for horses aged 3 years old and upwards.

The David Jones Cup is a Group 3 race run over 2000 metres at Caulfield Racecourse and carries prize money worth $125,000.

MRC's prestigious Group 1 Caulfield Cup is held on the same day, the last day of the three-day carnival. The race is an excellent middle distance race that has trainers test their handy miles over the extended distance in preparation for longer distances during the spring carnival.

The David Jones Cup was first held in 1898 and remained a principal race until 1978 when it was granted Group 3 status.

The race is an excellent spring carnival form guide for both punters and trainers with many horses moving up to the Caulfield Cup and other Group 2 races such as the Moonee Valley Cup held on Cox Plate Day at the Moonee Valley Racecourse. Some horses may tackle the Group 2 Lexus Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington and the Queen Elizabeth Stakes in November also at Flemington.

The Group 1 Epsom Handicap held earlier at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney is usually a lead up event with Foreteller running 7th in the Handicap before winning the 2011 David Jones Cup. Baughurst scored back to back victories in 2008-09 and placed well in the Moonee Valley Cup and Queen Elizabeth Stakes during the spring carnival.

Fortunes in the Cup favoured many other classy horses with 2010 winner Ginga Dude placing third in the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes at Flemington. Dream Pedlar who ran 4th in the same race later won the Bendigo Cup. Maybe Better in 2006 won the David Jones Cup / Lexus Stakes double.

Another race that serves as a form guide for this race is the 2000m Craven Plate held at Randwick a fortnight earlier.

International runners are also keen to contest the David Jones Cup on their way to the Melbourne Cup. European mare, Becqu Adoree made her Australian race debut in this race prior to the Melbourne Cup in 2010. The Luca Cumani trained mare finished 7th in a field of 13 horses.

Year David Jones Cup Winners
2019 Wolfe
2018 Dead Heat - Mask Of Time / Best Of Days
2017 Kiwia
2016 Vanbrugh
2015 Stratum Star
2014 Contributer
2013 Spurtonic
2012 Lightinthenite
2011 Foreteller
2010 Ginga Dude
2009 Baughurst
2008 Baughurst
2007 Fire In The Night
2006 Maybe Better
2005 Activation
2004 Reclaim
2003 Frightening
2002 Mr. Lofty
2001 Citra's Prince
2000 Typhoon
1999 Oliver Twist
1998 It's All In Fun
1997 Our Sumo
1996 Circles Of Gold
1995 Macdrury
1994 Excited Angel
1993 Silk Ali
1992 Fraar
1991 Mantlepiece
1990 Kessem
1989 Eye Of The Sky
1988 Ideal Centreman
1987 King Of Brooklyn
1986 Periscope
1985 Under Oath
1984 Lancelotto
1983 La Cocotte
1982 Rose Of Kingston
1981 Our Paddy Boy
1980 Yashmak
1979 Sonstone
1978 La Mer
1977 Major Till
1976 Northbridge Lad
1975 Shiftmar
1974 Bellota
1973 Top Role
1972 Jan's Beau
1971 Igloo
1970 Lancelot
1969 Tails
1968 Palatial
1967 Midlander
1966 Fulen
1965 Dalento
1964 Bon Filou
1963 Battle Standard
1962 Blue Shaun
1961 Grand Print
1960 Westdale
1959 Contador
1958 Red Pine
1957 Ralkon
1956 Thaumus
1955 Ribera
1954 Sunish
Te Totara
1953 Winemaker
1952 Durham
1951 True Course
1950 Vantage
1949 Hoyle
1948 Britisher
1947 Red Fury
1946 not held
1945 not held
1944 not held
1943 not held
1942 not held
1941 Son Of Aurous
1940 Lanarus
1939 Historian
1938 Kingdom
1937 not held
1936 not held
1935 not held
1934 not held
1933 not held
1932 not held
1931 not held
1930 Shadow King
1929 Prince Viol
1928 Textile
1927 Bunkie
1926 Naos
1925 Valwyne
1924 Graculus
1923 Stare
1922 Paratoo
1921 Stare
1920 Ulster
1919 Kunegetis
1918 Camp Out
1917 King's Bounty
1916 Torbane
1915 Cock O' The North
1914 Sylvanmore
1913 Effervescence
1912 Artesian
1911 Didus
1910 Eye Glass
1909 Dhobi
1908 Welcome Trist
1907 Apologue
1906 Demas
1905 Scot Free
1904 Sylvan King
1903 Elderslie
1902 Vanity Fair
1901 Juggler
1900 Clean Sweep
1899 Dewey
1898 Hymettus

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers