Hawkesbury Gold Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Hawkesbury Gold Cup run at the Hawkesbury Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Hawkesbury Gold Cup over the years

Winners and Past Results for the Hawkesbury Gold Cup.

The Hawkesbury Racing Club plays host to the Hawkesbury Gold Cup during the Melbourne spring racing carnival early in November each year.

The Group 3 Hawkesbury Gold Cup event is held under open handicap conditions at Hawkesbury Racecourse in NSW. The track is located opposite the Richmond Air Force Base, 65 km west of Sydney 's city centre.

The race has prize money totalling $200,000 for the winners over the 1600 metre distance.

The Group 1 Crown Oaks is also held on the same day on what is also known as Ladies Day at the Hawkesbury track. Most horses that assemble for the race are local gallopers during the season when top quality horses head for Flemington in search of bigger success.

The Hawkesbury Gold Cup is among the final events to be held during the Sydney racing carnival. Among the major races leading up to the Hawkesbury Gold Cup is the Group 1 Epsom Handicap, from where horses may find their way to the Hawkesbury track.

From here, top performers may move on to the Group 2 Villiers Stakes at Randwick. Another event that quality milers may hope to conquer is the Group 2 Sandown Guineas in Victoria.

Some of the quality milers and stayers to win the event include Mr. Impose in 1992, Magic Road in 1995-96, Referral in 1998, Huge Demand in 1999-2000, Stoway in 2003, Wild Queen in 2007, and Keepin' The Dream in 2009.

The inaugural Hawkesbury Gold Cup in 1984 was a listed race won by Kutzbah. It was elevated to Group 3 in 1996 and has remained so ever since.

Somepin Anypin, winner in 2011, came into the race with two consecutive victories in the Bowermans Office Furntiure Handicap over 1350 metres and Centrebets Pick Your Own Field over 1400 metres at Rosehill.

2010 title holder Thankgodyou'rehere came into the race after a win in a BM85 event over 1400 metres at the Randwick track. Runner up in 2011, Willy Jimmy ran fourth in the Group 1 Epsom Handicap at Randwick earlier in October. Third placed in 2011, Renewed Vitality finished eleventh out of a field of seventeen in the Epsom Handicap and was runner up in the Centrebets Pick Your Own Field before tackling the Hawkesbury Gold Cup.

Year Hawkesbury Gold Cup Winners
2020 Sons Of John
2019 Archedemus
2018 Kingsguard
2017 Fabrizio
2016 Amovatio
2015 Sons Of John 
2014 Leebaz
2013 Coup Ay Tee
2012 Darci Be Good
2011 Somepin Anypin
2010 Thankgodyou'rehere
2009 Keepin' The Dream
2008 Nuclear Sky
2007 not held
2006 Beauty Watch
2005 Wild Queen
2004 Court's In Session
2003 Stoway
2002 This Manshood
2001 Carael Boy
2000 Huge Demand
1999 Huge Demand
1998 Referral
1997 Quick Flick
1996 Magic Road
1995 Magic Road
1994 Jack Attack
1993 Thrifty Reserve
1992 Mr. Impose
1991 Shining Wind
1990 Rancho Classic
1989 Swain
1989 not held
1988 Regal Native
1987 My Parade
1986 Gold Zama
1985 Peaceful Joe
1984 Kutzbah

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers