Hollindale Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Hollindale Stakes run at the Gold Coast Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Hollindale Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Hollindale Stakes.

The Hollindale Stakes is a Gold Coast Turf Club Group 2 Australian horse race for three years old and upwards and is run under weight for age conditions.

The A D Hollindale Stakes have some of the best quality horses battle it out at the Gold Coast Racecourse every year.

The 1800 metre race carries a total prize money of $350,000 and has seen some of the best horses, jockeys, and trainers lift the coveted trophy over the years.

Initially a listed race in 1991 and 1992, the race moved up to Group 3 between 1993 and 1995, and acquired Group 2 status in 1996. The prestigious black-type race is named in honour of a former Gold Coast Turf Club chairman, Allan Hollindale.

Over the years, the event has had a quality field with some of the finest horses in Australian race history blaze the tracks over the 1800 M distance.

The first Hollindale Stakes was in 1989 and was won by Eye of the Sky (NZ) while Rough Habit, another New Zealand horse and jockey Jim Cassidy won both listed races in 1991 and 1992. Another horse to score a double in the Hollindale Stakes was Shogun Lodge in 2000 and 2001.

Among the finest horses to win the Stakes was Might and Power in 1998, the gelding also won the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup in 1997 and the Cox Plate in 1998. In the 1998 Hollindale Stakes Might and Power got the better of Group I winner, Summer Beau, by an astounding 5 ¾ lengths. Other talented gallopers to hit the winning post include Durbridge in 1994, Danewin in 1995, Scenic Shot in 2008 and Metal Bender in 2010.

Held in the month of May all eyes are on the Gold Coast tracks, which is located a few minutes from the center of Surfers Paradise.

The Hollindale Stakes is one of the biggest middle distance races at the winter carnival, which is usually a ticket for the horses and trainers to the Group I Doomben Cup held over a distance of 2020 M and the PJ O'Shea Stakes. Rough Habit, Durbridge, Danewin, Might and Power, Mr. Bureaucrat, and Above Deck were all Hollindale Stakes winners who went on to take the Doomben Cup.

Interestingly, Platinum Scissors, winner of the Group 2 Hollindale Cup in 2005 was one of the finest horses to go to stud and then put back to work. The stallion won the 2005 Hollindale Cup after serving 41 mares in the 2004 season.

Year Hollindale Stakes Winners
2020 Cancelled
2019 Life Less Ordinary
2018 Oregon's Day
2017 It's Somewhat
2016 Leebaz
2015  Leebaz 
2014 Streama
2013 Lights Of Heaven
2012 Shez Sinsational
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife
2010 Metal Bender
2009 Fulmonti
2008 Scenic Shot
2007 Coalesce
2006 Above Deck
2005 Platinum Scissors
2004 This Manshood
2003 Bush Padre
2002 Mr. Bureaucrat
2001 Shogun Lodge
2000 Shogun Lodge
1999 Melora
1998 Might And Power
1997 Summer Beau
1996 Super Slew
1995 Danewin
1994 Durbridge
1993 Corndale
1992 Rough Habit
1991 Rough Habit
1990 Hunter
1989 Eye Of The Sky