Gold Coast Guineas Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Gold Coast Guineas run at the Gold Coast Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Gold Coast Guineas

Winners and Past Results for the Gold Coast Guineas.

The Gold Coast Turf Club plays host to the Gold Coast Guineas at the Gold Coast Racecourse, home to the Magic Millions in May.

The Group 3 race is for three year old horses run under set weight conditions. Horses travel a distance of 1200 metres on the sunny Gold Coast track for prize money worth $125,000.

The Group 2 Hollindale Stakes is also included in the day's card. Horses that perform well in the Gold Coast Guineas may tackle the Group 3 Fred Best Classic later in the season at Doomben. Over the years, a number of local horses from Brisbane and the Gold Coast area have made their mark on this sprint event. Gold Edition and El Cambio, winners in 2007 and 2008 respectively, retained their fine form in the Fred Best Classic while Leapfrog ran second in both events in 2009.

Sprinters may make their way to the Gold Coast Guineas from the 1200m listed Darby Munro at Rosehill Racecourse. Although placed tenth in the event in 2011, Military Rose led from start to finish in the Gold Coast Guineas in her next outing.

The Gold Coast Guineas is a relatively new race held since 2000. It remained a listed race until 2008 when it achieved Group 3 status due to the fine quality of sprinters entering the field. 2010 winner, Beethog, win the Currumbin RSL Handicap a week earlier on the same track.

Most trainers use this race as a springboard for tougher events during the Brisbane winter carnival. In 2009, Chakvetadze, had an incredible season winning the 1100 M The Good Guys Handicap at Doomben and 1200m Winning Edge Trophy Handicap at Eagle Farm prior to lifting the 2009 Gold Coast Guineas. Her winning streak continued when she came back in December in the 1010 M Big Screen Company Handicap at Doomben.

In 2008, El Cambio won the Group 2 Schweppes Royal Sovereign Stakes over 1200m and runner up in the Group 2 Golden Rose Stakes over 1200m prior to claiming the Gold Coast Guineas in a record time of 1:07.9 seconds. A fortnight later he also won the 1350m Group 3 BTC Classic at Doomben. Classy Sprinter, Gold Edition, was victorious in the Group 2 Surround Stakes over 1400m at Warwick Farm Racecourse and runner up in the Group 1 Newmarket Handicap at Flemington Racecourse before winning the 2007 Gold Coast Guineas.

YearGold Coast Guineas Winners
2018Champagne Cuddles
2017Savanna Amour
2015 Nostradamus 
2011Military Rose
2008El Cambio
2007Gold Edition
2006Fashions Afield
2004Kings Chapel
2003Tahitian Star
2002Miss Bussell
2000Make Mine Magic  

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers