QTC Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

QTC Cup run at the Eagle Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the QTC Cup

Winners and Past Results for the QTC Cup.

A Group 2 event, held every year at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane, the QTC Cup is a quality handicap usually run at the end of May or beginning of June.

The race is run over 1200 metres and offers a prize of $175,000.

Held alongside the Group 2, Sires Produce Stakes, PJ O'Shea Stakes and Dane Ripper Stakes, the Group 1 Queensland Oaks, and the Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes, the QTC Cup is one of the main sprint events of the carnival.

The QTC Cup has been organised by the Brisbane Racing Club since 1979. The Brisbane Racing Club was created out the merger of Brisbane Turf Club and The Queensland Turf Club in 2009. Eagle Farm Racecourse is located 8 kilometres from Brisbane 's CBD and was built in 1865. It has a circumference of 2027 metres and a 434 metre straight, and is considered be one of Australia 's best horse racing tracks.

The QTC Cup usually attracts an above average group of gallopers rather than high quality horses. The field is usually made up of local horses with a few interstate visitors.

The race suits emerging horses who contest with a lighter weight. Horses usually come here from the Group 3 BTC Cup, which is a handy race held in mid May. After competing here, many horses go on to compete in either the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap the next week on the same track or the Group 3 WJ Healy Stakes on the final day of the carnival, at the Eagle Farm Racecourse.

Catapulted in 2010 came into this event after completing the Group 1 The Goodwood event at Allan Scott Park, where he placed second.

He then went on to win the Listed Henry Bucks Straight Six at Flemington Races, before winning this event. He was later unplaced in the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap. Also in 2010, Border Rebel came in after winning the Listed Hinkler Handicap at Eagle Farm, and later a quality handicap at Scone.

He then finished runner up in the QTC Cup, after which he competed in the Listed Takeover Target, winning it. Ortensia in 2009 won this event after finishing runner up in the Listed James H B Carr Stakes a month before at Randwick Racecourse and also won the Listed Glenlogan Park Stakes at Doomben Racecourse, a fortnight before. She then went on to place third in the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap.

Year QTC Cup Winners
2020 Race Not Held
2019 Pretty In Pink
2018 The Monstar
2017 Deploy
2016 Spill The Beans
2015 Ball Of Muscle
2014 Sacred Star
2013 Galah
2012 Celtic Dancer
2011 Varenna Miss
2010 Catapulted
2009 Ortensia
2008 Chinchilla Rose
2007 Nova Star
2006 Messiaen
2005 Sir Breakfast
2004 Falkirk
2003 Into The Night
2002 Pembleton
2001 Century Kid
2000 Gallopini
1999 not held
1998 Scandinavia
1997 Celestial Choir
1996 Hareeba
1995 Bulldog Yeats
1994 Bellzevir
1993 Overpitch
1992 Schillaci
1991 Heavenly Knight
1990 Rechabite
1989 Vitalic
1988 not held
1987 Tolai
1986 Eye Of The Sky
1985 Pete's Choice
1984 Manuan
1983 Nosey Parker
1982 My Gold Hope
1981 Tulip Town
1980 Winter's Dance
1979 Famoso Gris
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers