Gunsynd Classic Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Gunsynd Classic run at the Eagle Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Gunsynd Classic

Winners and Past Results for the Gunsynd Classic.

The Gunsynd Classic is a Brisbane Racing Club Group 3 Australian horse race for horses aged three years old run at set weights.

The race is held at Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane in honour of Gunsynd, a champion miler in the 1970s with $125,000 in prize money up for grabs. The event was known as the Doomben Classic until 2009. The Gunsynd Classic is held on the first day of the winter racing carnival which is why many horses may come in from a spell, making it tough for punters to pick a winner. The Group 2 Sir Byrne Hart Stakes is also scheduled on the same day.

In form local gallopers usually tackle the mile under set weight conditions which favours the better performers. A few horses from down south may also head down to Doomben for the event.

Among the other events that horses may fancy their chances later in the season are the Group 3 Rough Habit Plate at the same track over a distance of 2000 metres and the 2200 M Group 3 Grand Prix Stakes also run on the same track in May. Fillydelphia, although unplaced in the 2011 Gunsynd Classic, won the Rough Habit Plate in her next outing and finished fourth in the Grand Prix Stakes.

Among the notable winners to score a Gunsynd Classic/Rough Habit Plate double include Marble Halls in 1997, Bob's Boy in 2003, and Belmonte in 2006. 2011 Gunsynd Classic winner, Chateau Fort, won a BM60 mile race and a maiden event at Scone in NSW, prior to winning this race.

One of the major events that horses entering the Gunsynd Classic may have their eye on is the Group 1 Queensland Derby where top quality gallopers are stretched over 2400 metres in June. The Group 2 Queensland Guineas at Eagle Farm later in the season is another event that horses may favour their chances.

The Gunsynd Classic was first held as a listed race between 1990 and 1996. In 1997 it was granted Group 3 status and has remained so since then. Among the notable winners in recent times include Tobruk in 1999, Galroof in 2002, Saxon in 2005, Reigning To Win in 2007, and Pepperwood in 2008.

Year Gunsynd Classic Winners
2020 Supergiant
2019 Gem Song
2018 Villermont
2017 Dreams Aplenty
2016 Cylinder Beach
2015 Worthy Cause
2014 Hopfgarten
2013 Proverb
2012 Trump
2011 Chateau Fort
2010 Sanderson
2009 Za Magic
2008 Pepperwood
2007 Reigning To Win
2006 Belmonte
2005 Saxon
2004 Drunken Joker
2003 Bob's Boy
2002 Galroof
2001 Arrabeea
2000 Akhenaton
1999 Tobruk
1998 Enforced
1997 Marble Halls
1996 Kidman's Cove
1995 Matsqui
1994 What A Poet
1993 Slanchyvah
1992 Pago's King
1991 Brunchtime
1990 Stylish Century
Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers