Doomben Roses Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Doomben Roses run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Doomben Roses

Winners and Past Results for the Doomben Roses. 

The Doomben Roses is an Australian Group 3 set weights race for 3 year olds held annually in early May at Doomben Racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland.

The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and the prize money for Doomben Roses is $175,000.

Doomben Roses, hosted by the Brisbane Racing Club is held on one of the premier race days of the winter racing carnival at Doomben.

The Doomben Roses was first held in 1996 as a Listed Race until 2002. From 1996 to 1997, the Doomben Roses was run over a distance of 1915 metres but in 1998, the race distance was increased to its present distance which is 2020 metres. Notably, the winner of 2001 race, Ethereal, whose jockey was Scott Seamer and trainer was Shiela Laxon, went on to win that year's Melbourne Cup.

The new speed record of covering the current race distance of 2020 metres was accomplished by 2002 race winner, Palidamah, with a time of 2:01.95. Surprisingly, till date, Roger James is the only trainer to win the Doomben Roses twice, with Melora in 1998 and Gaze in 2006.

There had been a long gap for punters looking for the Doomben Roses / Queensland Oaks double dating back to Ethereal in 2001. But surprisingly, that was broken in 2011 when another New Zealand horse, Scarlett Lady, scored convincing victories in both events. The 2001 race winner, Ethereal, also won the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup. The 2011 Doomben Roses winner, Scarlett Lady, won the Gr2 Travis Stakes over race distance of 2000 metres at Te Rapa in New Zealand prior to winning this Doomben Roses event.

Also to note here is that a majority of these horses will be sighted again during the spring carnival but they won't always go on to huge heights.

The unsung heroes of the Brisbane's thoroughbred racing industry are recognized in the Brisbane Racing Club (BRC) awards held at Eagle Farm Racecourse. The BRC Awards were founded just to encourage and pay tribute and honour to the trainers, jockeys, horses, track work riders and participants of the racing industry. The BRC Awards are founded to pay tribute and honour, in particular, to those who rarely receive recognition in front of their peers. The winners of the BRC Awards are chosen based on their achievements throughout the season at either Eagle Farm or Doomben Racecourses.

Year Doomben Roses Winners 
2021Only Words
2020Vanna Girl
2015Bohemian Lily
2014Arabian Gold
2013Dear Demi
2011Scarlett Lady
2009Awesome Planet
2008Heavenly Glow
2005Cinque Cento
2004Natural Woman
2003The Jewel
1997Queenstown Kate
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Great Odds
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers