Champagne Classic Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Champagne Classic run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Champagne Classic

Winners and Past Results for the Champagne Classic.

The Champagne Classic hosted by the Brisbane Racing Club is a Group 2 race run over a distance of 1200 meters at the Doomben race track in Brisbane, Queensland.

The first event for two year olds in the season is run under set weight conditions held in mid-May during the winter racing carnival.

$175,000 is up for grabs in the Champagne Classic on one of the biggest race days of the carnival.

The racing card for the day also includes the Group 1 BTC Cup and the Group 3 Rough Habit Plate.

Over the years many classy sprinters have won the trophy in the set weight race that favours the above average types.

Horses are likely to move on to the Group 2 Sires Produce Stakes to test their skills over 1400 meters at Eagle Farm Racecourse two weeks later. Among the most recent sprinters to score a Champagne Classic/Sires Produce Stakes double was Pressday in 2010. Pressday also won the 1600 meters TJ Smith, a Group 1 race that many top sprinters head for after the Sires Produce Stakes. Third in 2009, Impulsive Dream ran a close second in the Sires Produce Stakes.

Some of the strongest sprinters have blazed the Doomben track in the Champagne Classic over the years. These include Gin Rhythm in 1989, Surtee in 1993, Ginzano in 1995, Alpine Express in 1999, Shamekha in 2003, Funtantes in 2009, and most recently Free Wheeling in 2011. Virage De Fortune also won the Sires Produce after lifting the Champagne Classic in 2005.

Some of the successful two year old sprinters may tackle the Group 1 Golden Rose Stakes over 1400 meters at Rosehill Racecourse later in August.

The Champion Class was first held in 1982 as the Listed BATC Coca Cola Stakes. It became a Group 3 event in 1987 and was granted Group 2 status in 2007.

While local trainers seek to saddle their finer crop of sprinters, the race also attracts runners from Sydney and Melbourne. Late runners, Spot On Target and Linky Dink, unplaced in the 2009 Champagne Classic, came from nowhere to run the TJ Smith quinella.

Peter Snowden trained Free Wheeling ran second in the Bacardi Handicap at Canterbury in a small field of four horses before romping home first in the 2011 Champagne Classic.

Year Champagne Classic Winners
2020 Rothfire
2019 Dubious
2018 Zousain
2017 Tangled
2016 Winning Rupert
2015  Blueberry Hill 
2014 Brazen Beau
2013 Vo Heart
2012 Sizzling
2011 Free Wheeling
2010 Pressday
2009 Funtantes
2008 Court
2007 Keiki
2006 Gold Edition
2005 Virage De Fortune
2004 Golden Fox
2003 Shamekha
2002 Lovely Jubly
2001 Dolce Veloce
2000 Chenar
1999 Alpine Express
1998 Electrifying
1997 Staging
1996 Flavour
1995 Ginzano
1994 Chief De Beers
1993 Sardana
1992 Surtee
1991 Bold Promise
1990 Our Horizon
1989 Gin Rhythm
1988 not held
1987 Prince Anton
1986 Breakfast Creek
1985 Swiftly Roman
1984 Pete's Choice
1983 Daybreak Lover
1982 Peand

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers