Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

PGR will always be free to use (yay!). However, we will receive a referral fee from the brands when you sign up to them through us and this may affect the order in which they appear on our site.

Got It

BTC Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

BTC Cup run at the Doomben Racecourse. Winners and past results of the BTC Cup

Winners and Past Results of the BTC Cup.

The BTC Cup, hosted by the Brisbane Racing Club at the Doomben Racecourse in Brisbane is an open race run under weight for age conditions over a distance of 1200 meters.

The prestigious Group 1 race offers prize money worth $750,000 for the winners, which over the years has been lifted by some of the finest sprinters including Falvelon, Apache Cat, and most recently Black Caviar in May 2011.

The BTC Cup, held during the winter racing carnival in Queensland is held on a day of quality group races which include the Group 3 Chairman's Handicap and the Rough Habit Plate.

Trainers of the top quality sprinters enter this race as a lead up to the Group 1 Doomben 10,000 held over a distance of 1350 meters a fortnight later. Apache Cat scored a BTC Cup / Doomben 10,000 double in 2008, and holds the record of the only horse to do so. After being placed third in the 2009 BTC Cup, Apache Cat moved on to win the Doomben 10,000 once again in style. Takeover Target, who ran second in 2007, also trounced his opponents in his next start at the Doomben 10,000. In 2010, Melito ran an impressive second in the BTC Cup and followed up with a third spot in the Doomben 10,000.

Held since 1964, the BTC Cup was earlier known as the BATC J.T. Delaney Quality Handicap and remained a principal race until 1979. Rashlore is recorded as the first winner. It was also held under various other names including the BATC Tourist Minister's Cup, BATC Stefan Sprint, BATC Robins Kitchen Cup, BTC Foster's Cup, and BTC Carlton Cup, to name a few.

In 2008, the year of Apache Cat, the cup was formally known as BTC Jacob's Creek Cup. The event gained Group 1 status in 2006, with rank outsider Gee I Jane winning the race in style. Since 2009, it has been held as the BTC Cup.

Buck's Pride scored back to back victories in 1993 and 1994 while Falvelon won in 2000 and came back again to lift the Cup in 2003. Other notable sprinters to win the BTC Cup include Vinegar Joe in 1980, Strawberry Road in 1983, High Regard in 1989, Accomplice in 1997, Lord Essex in 2002, and Albert The Fat in 2010. Superstar mare, Black Cavair, did not disappoint her followers with an astounding victory in the 2011 BTC Cup.

Year BTC Cup Winners
2019 The Bostonian
2018 Impending
2017 Clearly Innocent
2016 Malaguerra
2015  Hot Snitzel
2014 Famous Seamus
2013 Your Song
2012 Sea Siren
2011 Black Caviar
2010 Albert The Fat
2009 Duporth
2008 Apache Cat
2007 Bentley Biscuit
2006 Gee I Jane
2005 Spark Of Life
2004 Thorn Park
2003 Falvelon
2002 Lord Essex
2001 Fritz
2000 Falvelon
1999 Staging
1998 General Nediym
1997 Accomplice
1996 Chief De Beers
1995 Seawinne
1994 Buck's Pride
1993 Buck's Pride
1992 Barrosa Boy
1991 St. Jude
1990 Gypsy Rogue
1989 High Regard
1988 Cool Report
1987 Broad Reach
1986 Goldorme
1985 Sports Ruler
1984 Mr. Illusion
1983 Strawberry Road
1982 Todonic
1981 Grand Rocky
1980 Vinegar Joe
1979 Stylee
1978 March Legend
1977 Innisfree
1976 Ima Shadow
1975 Martindale
1974 Tontonan
1973 Triton
1972 Charlton Boy
1971 Ricochet
1970 Cabochon
1969 Dual Control
1968 Prince Gauntlet
1967 Eye Liner %3

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Neds Logo
Same Race Multi Available on All Meetings on All 3 Codes
Join Now
Available from approx. 9:30am local track time on race day. Availability dependent on fiel ...More
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing. Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Bet365 Logo
Great Promotions. Use Referral Code: TOP10AU
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Palmerbet Logo
Great Value & Great Odds Every Day
Join Now
T&Cs. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers