Tulloch Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Tulloch Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Tulloch Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Tulloch Stakes.

Three year old colts and geldings take to the Rosehill Racetrack in Sydney under set weight conditions in the Tulloch Stakes over 2000 metres in April.

The Group 2 event is worth $200,000 in prize money and is held on the biggest day of the racing carnival at Rosehill, the Golden Slipper Stakes Day along with other Group 1 races. This includes The BMW and the Storm Queen Stakes.

The Tulloch Stakes is the final preparation for colts and geldings for the 2400 M Group 1 AJC Australian Derby which takes place at Randwick Racecourse the following week. However, this race hasn't been a handy form guide for the Derby in recent times.

Starcraft in 2004, was the last horse to oblige his connections by winning both the Tulloch Stakes / Australian Derby double. However, Stalwarts like Durbridge in 1991, and Mahogany in 1994, and Ivory's Irish in 1995 were also successful in scoring a double. Winner of the 2009 Tulloch Stakes, Harris Tweed came close to winning the Derby in his next run, although he had to remain content as runner up behind Roman Emperor after a closely fought battle. Stella Grande also came close following his win in 2005, losing to Eremein in the Derby by a close margin.

The Tulloch Stakes attracts above average gallopers that have either proved their staying ability or are testing their ability over extended distances. Horses may use a variety of events on their way to the Tulloch Stakes. Fast Clip finished runner up in the 1500 M Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes at Rosehill two weeks earlier in 2011 while runner up I Think I Do ran fourth in the 2040 M Alister Clarke Stakes at Moonee Valley on the way here. Earlier in 2010, Descarado ran third in the Phar Lap Stakes before running second in the Tulloch Stakes and Australian Derby as well.

The race is held in honour of New Zealand Thoroughbred racehorse who raced in Australia and became one of the finest racehorses in Australian racing history to finish his career with 36 wins from 53 starts.

Longfella is recorded as the first winner of this race in 1973 when it was a principal race. It has been a Group 2 race since 1979.

Year Tulloch Stakes Winners
2020 Quick Thinker
2019 Angel Of Truth
2018 Levendi
2017 Jon Snow
2016 Old North
2015 Hauraki 
2014 Gallatin
2013 Philippi
2012 Polish Knight
2011 Fast Clip
2010 Count Encosta
2009 Harris Tweed
2008 Book Of Kells
2007 Tipungwuti
2006 Manton
2005 Stella Grande
2004 Starcraft
2003 Natural Blitz
2002 Prince Of War
2001 Zareyev
2000 Shogun Lodge
1999 Lease
1998 Northern Drake
1997 Heroes Return
1996 Peep On The Sly
1995 Ivory's Irish
1994 Mahogany
1993 The Bill
1992 Zamination
1991 Durbridge
1990 Fill The Bill
1989 Our Krona
1988 Mighty Willem
1987 Our Palliser
1986 Periscope
1985 Prince Frolic
1984 Prolific
1983 Hermod
1982 Binbinga
1981 Ring The Bell
1980 Prince Ruling
1979 Career
1978 Lefroy
1977 Ming Dynasty
1976 Balmerino
1975 Mansingh
1974 Asgard
1973 Longfella

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers