Tramway Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Tramway Quality Handicap run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Tramway Quality Handicap

Winners and Past Results for the Tramway Stakes.

Hosted by the Australian Turf Club, the Tramway Stakes is a Group 2 race for horses three years old and over.

Horses travel 1400 metres of the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney for a shot at prize money worth $200,000.

The event is held annually in September during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

Other major races held on the same day are the Group 2 Furious Stakes and Chelmsford Stakes. For trainers, the Tramway Stakes is an important event since the winner gains automatic entry to the Epsom Handicap. The race is usually taken by horses who are best suited under quality handicap conditions.

While some horses may come in after a spell, the Show County Quality held two weeks earlier over an extended distance of 1600 metres at the same track is usually one of the better form guides.

A number of horses have won or placed well in both the events. Sportsman in 2003, Primus in 2006, and Bank Robber in 2008 all won the Show County Quality / Tramway Stakes double. Lotteria won the Show County prior to finishing second in the 2005 Tramway Quality. Thankgodyou'rehere ran fifth in the 2011 Show County Quality prior to stepping up to third place here. Earlier, Neeson finished third in 2010 before winning the Tramway Quality.

Being an early race during the spring carnival, horses may step up in distance to tackle a variety of group races in Sydney and Melbourne. Winner in 2011, Sincero went on to lift the 1500 M Group 1 George Main Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse in his next run while third placed Thankgodyou'rehere upped the tempo to win the Group 3 Bill Ritchie Handicap over the same distance at Rosehill a fortnight later. Rangirangdoo went on to finish second in the Group 1 Epsom Handicap after winning here in 2009 before moving to Melbourne to win the Group 2 Crystal Mile at Moonee Valley.

The Tramway Stakes has a rich history with the first race held back in 1886 over 7 furlongs. It was a listed race between 1979 and 1983 prior to being elevated to Group 3 in 1984. Notable runners to add the Tramway Stakes to their resume in recent times include Sportsman in 2003 and Shania Dane in 2005 while Bank Robber triumphed in 2008.

Year ATC Tramway Stakes Winner
2020 Dreamforce
2019 Dreamforce
2018 Comin' Through
2017 Happy Clapper
2016 Hauraki
2015 Hooked
2014 Lucia Valentina
2013 Malavio
2012 Tagus
2011 Sincero
2010 Neeson
2009 Rangirangdoo
2008 Bank Robber
2007 not held
2006 Primus
2005 Shania Dane
2004 Nips
2003 Sportsman
2002 Gordo
2001 Diamond Dane
2000 Mr. Innocent
1999 Kinzaffra
1998 Corporate James
1997 Galactic Valley
1996 Peruzzi
1995 Rembetica
1994 Big Dreams
1993 Ghost Story
1992 Cobbora
1991 Moville Peter
1990 Shaftesbury Avenue
1989 Cole Diesel
1988 Gold Trump
1987 Wong
1986 Chanteclair
1985 Double Dandy
1984 Tandrio
1983 Secret Romance
1982 Tuna Too
1981 Winter's Dance
1980 Tullmax
1979 Imposing
1978 Bernard
1977 Party's Pride
1976 Hamden
1975 Summer Fantasy
1974 Navaho Brave
1973 Big Circle
1972 Charlton Boy
1971 Cast Iron
1970 Bermudez
1969 Black Onyx
1968 Royal Rene
1967 Shakedown
1966 Autumn Boy
1965 Uriel
1964 Farnworth
1963 King Brian
1962 Bogan Road
1961 Wenona Girl
1960 Grenoble
1959 Grenoble
1958 Amanullah
1957 Landy
1956 Teranyan
1955 Compound
1954 Bronze Peak
1953 Spearby
1952 High Law
1951 French Cavalier
1950 Humming Top
1949 Buzmark
1948 De La Salle
1947 Clipper
1946 Puffham
1945 Shannon
1944 Prince
1943 Dewar
1942 Gundagai
1941 Evergreen
1940 Tel Asur
1939 Adios
1938 Mohican
1937 Lough Neagh
1936 The Marne
1935 Lough Neagh
1934 Roman Spear
1933 Turbine
1932 Sir Duninald
1932 Rogilla

1931 Pentheus
1931 Waugoola
1930 Killarney
1929 Ceremony
1928 Amounis
1927 Mullabawn
1926 Fujisan
1925 Irish Prince
1924 Julia Grey
1923 Vaccine
1922 Rostrum
1921 Beauford
1920 Remmon
1919 Wolaroi
1918 Panacre
1917 Ardrossan
1916 Polycrates
1915 First Principle
1914 Royal Laddie
1913 Gigandra
1912 Gigandra
1911 Grist
1910 Malt King
1909 Parsee
1908 Melodrama
1907 Legation
1906 Pompous
1905 Machine Gun
1904 Mimer
1903 Marvel Loch
1902 Baccarat
1901 Ruskin
1900 Bange
1899 Felicity
1898 The Tola
1897 Blue Vest
1896 Amiable
1895 Blue Cap
1894 Wakawatea
1893 Lullaby
1892 Victor Hugo
1891 Bedtime
1890 Paddy
1889 Merriment
1888 Lady Marion
1887 Glen Elgin
1886 Burrilda

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers