Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Todman Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Todman Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Todman Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Todman Stakes.

Among the major Group races for two year old colts & geldings hosted by the Australian Turf Club during the Sydney autumn racing carnival in March is the Group 2 Todman Stakes.

2023 Todman Stakes Race Details

Date Of The Todman Stakes: 4/3/23

Venue For The Todman Stakes: Randwick Racecourse

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Todman Stakes: Ladbrokes

The Todman Stakes is held over 1200 metres at Randwick racecourse in Sydney under set weight conditions on the same day as the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Classic and Ranvet Stakes. Over the years the race has been called the Todman Slipper Trial.

The female equivalent of the race, the Reisling Stakes is also on the day's race card.

Prize money worth $300,000 is at stake in the race where the winner also gains automatic entry for the $3.5 million Golden Slipper Stakes, held two weeks later over the same distance and on the same track.

Level weights usually favour classier sprinters, many of whom have gone on to achieve greater success during their career. The last horse to score a Todman Stakes / Golden Slipper Stakes double was Tierce in 1991. Runner up in 2009, Phelan Ready won the Golden Slipper in his next outing.

Two year olds usually make their way to the Todman Stakes after a run in the Group 2 Skyline Stakes run over 1200 metres a week earlier at the Randwick Racetrack. Some horses may come in after a spell. Other lead up races include the 1200 M Group 2 Pago Pago Stakes at Randwick a week earlier. Therefore, punters ought to keep an eye on these events when selecting a winner for the Todman Stakes.

A number of classy sprinters have added the Todman Stakes to their resume although there has been a lack of Golden Slipper champions. The list includes Octagonal in 1995 and General Nediym in 1997. Exceed And Excel was another classy sprinter to win in 2003 while Charge Forward was next in line in 2004. The Todman Stakes was first held in 1973 as a principal race with Imagele recorded as the first winner. It was granted Group 3 status in 1980 and was stepped up to Group 2 in 1987.

Todman Stakes Past Winners

2019Yes Yes Yes
2016Kiss And Make Up
2011Smart Missile
2009Real Saga
2006Diego Garcia
2005Written Tycoon
2004Charge Forward
2003Exceed And Excel
2001Royal Courtship
2000Great Crusader
1998Laurie's Lottery
1997General Nediym
1993Justice Prevails
1992Clan O'Sullivan
1988Full And By
1986Haida Prince
1983Daybreak Lover
1982Mr. Mcginty
1981Crown Jester
1979Dignitas' Son
1978Black Opaque
1977Luskin Star
1976Blue And Gold
1976Pacific Ruler
1975Top Charer
1975Rosie Heir

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
All Sky Racing Channels
Live on your App
Join Now
*TC’s Apply. Gamble Responsibly. Gamblers Help 1800 858 858
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers