The Galaxy Winners, Past Results & Latest News

The Galaxy run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of The Galaxy

Winners and Past Results for The Galaxy.

One of the major black type races during the Sydney autumn racing carnival in April is The Galaxy. The Group 1 event is held at Rosehill Racecourse with sprinters of all ages travelling over 1100 metres under handicap conditions in a bid to take home a purse of $350,000.

The Galaxy is held on one of the biggest days during the carnival alongside other major Group 1 races which include the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes and Group 1 Rosehill Guineas. The open handicap race is hosted by the Australian Turf Club.

The race attracts some of the best sprinters around during autumn that may make their way here after an outing in the  Group 2 Challenge Stakes held earlier.

Some may have also tackled the Group 3 Liverpool City Cup earlier in March. The race usually favours horses that are fast to jump and are drawn close to the barriers as this is a distinct advantage.

Among the accomplished sprinters to win The Galaxy include Bletchingly in 1975, Grey Receiver in 1984-84, Schillaci in 1992, Gold Ace in 1996, Mistegic in 2002, Spark Of Life in 2004, Magnus in 2007 and Nicconi in 2009. The Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes over 1200 metres at Randwick may be next on the cards for top performers in The Galaxy.

The Galaxy was first held in 1972 as a principal race. Hit It Benny is recorded as its first winner as a Group 2 event in 1980 while Mr. Illusion has the distinction of being the first to win after it achieved Group 1 status in 1984. The 2010 edition saw Ortensia being disqualified after failing a drug test, following which runner-up Shellscrape declared the winner after a four-month inquiry. Interestingly, only five fillies or mares have managed to win The Galaxy with La Baraka the last in 1998.

Year The Galaxy Winners
2020 I Am Excited
2019 Nature Strip
2018 In Her Time
2017 Russian Revolution
2016 Griante
2015 Sweet Idea
2014 Tiger Tees
2013 Bel Sprinter
2012 Temple Of Boom
2011 Atomic Force
2010 Ortensia
2009 Nicconi
2008 Typhoon Zed
2007 Magnus
2006 Proprietor
2005 Charge Forward
2004 Spark Of Life
2003 Snowland
2002 Mistegic
2001 Padstow
2000 Black Bean
1999 Masked Party
1998 La Baraka
1997 Accomplice
1996 Gold Ace
1995 Magic Of Money
1994 Jetball
1993 Sublimate
1992 Schillaci
1991 Mr. Tiz
1990 Potrero
1989 Targlish
1988 Snippets
1987 Princely Heart
1986 Rich Fields Lad
1985 Manuan
1984 Mr. Illusion
1983 Bronze Spirit
1982 Grey Receiver
1981 Grey Receiver
1980 Hit It Benny
1979 Mistress Anne
1978 Luskin Star
1977 Salaam
1976 Wayne's Bid
1975 Bletchingly
1974 Starglow
1973 Kista
1972 Playbill

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers