Summer Cup Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Summer Cup run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Summer Cup

Winners and Past Results for the Summer Cup.

The Summer Cup is Group 3 open race held under handicap conditions at the Randwick Racetrack over a distance of 2000 metres.

Hosted by the Australian Turf Club, the event is held in December at the start of the summer racing carnival on Boxing Day.

Prize money of $125,000 is at stake in the race that usually fields an average group of local stayers who are still yet to prove their mettle over long distances. While the Summer Cup is traditionally held at Randwick Racecourse, it was held at Rosehill Racecourse in 2011 due to renovations at Randwick.

The Summer Cup heralds the end of group racing for the year in Sydney, which usually follows the 1600 M Group 2 Villiers Stakes at Randwick although the race hasn't been a handy form guide in recent times.

The last to win a Villiers Stakes/Summer Cup double was Aqua D'Amore in 2005. Punters may find it difficult to pick a winner since the race may not attract the more than handy stayers. Among the classiest stayers and milers to win was Super Impose in 1988.

In recent times the listed Christmas Cup held at the Rosehill track over 2400 metres has been among the better warm up events.

The inaugural event was held way back in 1890 with Stockwell recorded as the first winner. It remained a principal race until 1979 when it was promoted to Group 3. Blue Metal was the first to score back to back wins in 1899-1900 while Donald followed suit in 1928-29.

Apart from Super Impose, other notable stayers to win the Summer Cup include Limitless in 1986, Striking Gold in 1993, Catalan Prince in 1995, Zanetta in 1999, Aqua D'Amore in 2005, and Solid Billing in 2009.

Year Summer Cup Winners
2020 Spirit Ridge
2019 Luvaluva
2018 Fierce Impact
2017 Montauk
2016 Red Excitement
2015 Mighty Lucky
2014 I'm Imposing
2013 I'm Imposing
2012 Le Roi
2011 Yulalona
2010 Spechenka
2009 Solid Billing
2008 Ready To Lift
2007 not held
2006 Jamberoo
2005 Aqua D'Amore
2004 This Manshood
2003 Stadium
2002 Stoway
2001 Majestically
2000 Lanolin
1999 Zanetta
1998 Dance Til Dawn
1997 Linesman
1996 Century Boy
1995 Catalan Prince
1994 Spiritual Star
1993 Striking Gold
1992 Mr. Eurostar
1991 Cross Swords
1990 Magnolia Hall
1989 Lord Hybrow
1988 Super Impose
1987 Perfect Jet
1986 Limitless
1985 Britt's Kingdom
1984 Rising Prince
1983 Our Shout
1982 Just For Tristram
1981 Port Carling
1980 Peninsula
1979 Azranee
1978 Dear John
1977 Princely Sum
1976 Ming Dynasty
1975 On Your Mark
1974 Kasharyl
1973 Rangoon
1972 Big Butch
1971 Dark Diamond
1970 Royal Entrance
1969 Regal Jane
1968 Sandy's Hope
1967 Duo
1966 Royal Display
1965 Flotsam
1964 Hyde
1963 General Delivery
1962 Alspick
1961 Kamikaze
1960 Dual Copy
1959 Nadar Shah
1958 Compass
1957 Half Hennesy
1956 Baystone
1955 Viteren
1954 Pipe On
1953 Double Blank
1952 Carioca
1951 Persist
1950 Ballroom
1949 Snowstream
1948 Regal Son
1947 Silent
1946 Haxton
1945 Invictus
1944 Easter Time
1943 Cream Puff
1942 Amberspear
1941 Santa
1940 Malagigi
1939 Bringa
1938 Red Sails
1937 Young Crusader
1936 Sir Ross
1935 Vice Royal
1934 Dark Chief
1933 Nord
1932 Pretzel
Miss Nottava
1931 Vertigern
1930 Dalston
1929 Donald
1928 Donald
1927 Vitality
1926 Strongbow
1925 Dainty Davie
1924 Prince Minimbah
1923 King Of The Forest
1922 Oranian
1921 King Of The Forest
1920 Braille
1919 Pah King
1918 Arch Marella
1917 Poitrel
1916 The Fortune Hunter
1915 Foil
1914 Lochano
1913 Barlow
1912 Alured
1911 Baw Bee
1910 Britain
1909 Ungarie
1908 Epos
1907 Vanadium
1906 Tatterdemalion
1905 Ossian
1904 Cato
1903 Bridegroom
1902 Aurantia
1901 Caledonia
1900 Blue Metal
1899 Blue Metal
1898 Strathroy
1897 Tornado
1896 Damien
1895 Mahee
1894 Blarney Stone
1893 Jeweller
1892 Little Bernie
1891 Vespasia
1890 Stockwell

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers