Sapphire Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Sapphire Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Sapphire Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Sapphire Stakes.

The Australian Turf Club holds a number of black type meetings at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney during the autumn racing carnival.

This includes the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes for fillies and mares run over a distance of 1200 metres of the Randwick track under set weight & penalty conditions.

The Sapphire Stakes is worth $300,000 in prize money and usually witnesses a few classy sprinters and milers coming under the starter's orders.

Adding to the excitement of the day are major Group ones which includes the ATC Australian Oaks, Queen Elizabeth Stakes, Sydney Cup and the Queen Of The Turf Stakes. This leaves punters an opportunity to spread their wagers over the day and find enough winners at the right price in order to achieve a level stakes profit.

Run over the same distance and track in March on Rosehill Guineas Day, the Group 3 Birthday Card Stakes often serves as a handy form guide. 

A few may come in from listed events around the region. Hurtle Myrtle was unplaced in the 1400 metre Wiggle Stakes at Warwick Farm prior to winning here. She later trounced her opposition convincingly in the 1400 M Group 2 Dane Ripper Stakes at Eagle Farm in June. Horses may also fancy their chances in the Group 3 BTC Classic at Doomben Races in May over a distance of 1350 metres. Court in 2009 went on to win the event before finishing unplaced in the Dane Ripper Stakes.

The Sapphire Stakes has been conducted by the Australian Turf Club since 1998. It began as a listed race and was soon promoted to Group 3 in 2002. A flow of classy fillies and mares soon made it a Group 2 event in 2006. It was held as the AJC Lady S McMahon Stakes in 2010. Spinning Hill is the only horse so far to score back to back victories in 2000-2001.

YearSapphire Stakes Winners
2020White Moss
2019White Moss
2017Secret Agenda
2016Two Blue
 2014Avoid Lightning 
2014Cosmic Endeavour
2012Atlantic Jewel
2011Hurtle Myrtle
2008Belong To Many
2007Fire Song
2006Coolroom Candidate
2005Glamour Puss
2002Fair Embrace
2001Spinning Hill
2000Spinning Hill
1999Little Pattie
1998What Can I Say
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Great Odds
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Bookmaker Logo
Online Betting Racing & Sports
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers