Ranvet Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Ranvet Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Ranvet Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Ranvet Stakes.

The Australian Turf Club hosts the Ranvet Stakes, a Group 1 race at Rosehill Gardens Racecourse during the autumn racing carnival in March.

The 2000 metre race is the first weight for age race of the season with a purse of $700,000 reserved for the winning connections.

The Ranvet Stakes is a good platform for horses seeking entry to the 2400 M Group 1 The BMW a fortnight later, since the winner is exempt from ballot. There are several other races held on the day, which includes the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Classic for fillies and mares, and Group 2 events such as the Todman Slipper Trial and the Phar Lap Stakes among others.

For punters, the Chipping Norton Stakes is one of the best form guides with several gallopers scoring a double or placing well in recent times. This includes Tie The Knot in 2000-01, Grand Armee in 2005, and Theseo in 2010. The event attracts a better quality of middle distance types with staying ability to tackle The BMW Stakes a fortnight later over an extended distance of 2400 metres on the same track.

The Ranvet Stakes has also produced a number of winners and place getters in both events. Eremein won the Ranvet Stakes / The BMW double in 2006 and was followed by Tuesday Joy in 2008. After winning the 2009 Ranvet Stakes, Theseo finished a close second in The BMW while unplaced Fluminicino went on to win The BMW.

Although Descarado, runner up in 2011, did not do well in The BMW, the gelding added the Group 1 Yalumba Stakes to his kitty later on in the year at Caulfield. Since the Ranvet Stakes is an early Group 1 event in the beginning of the year, the performance of most horses ought to be closely watched.

The Ranvet Stakes has a rich history with the first event held in 1903. It remained a principal race until 1980 when the officials of the Australian Turf Club granted it Group 1 status, a well deserved promotion since a number of classy gallopers have scored impressive victories over the years.

This includes Peter Pan, Tulloch, Gunsynd, Purple Patch, Hyperno, Better Loosen Up, and Veandercross in earlier times while Tie The Knot, Grand Armee, Tuesday Joy, and Eremein have been among the notable winners in the new millennium.

Year Ranvet Stakes Winners
2020 Addeybb
2019 Avilius
2018 Gailo Chop
2017 Our Ivanhowe
2016 The United States
2015 Contributer 
2014 Silent Achiever
2013 Foreteller
2012 Manighar
2011 Zavite
2010 Theseo
2009 Theseo
2008 Tuesday Joy
2007 Desert War
2006 Eremein
2005 Grand Armee
2004 Sound Action
2003 Republic Lass
2002 Universal Prince
2001 Tie The Knot
2000 Tie The Knot
1999 Darazari
1998 Gold Guru
1997 Arkady
1996 Electronic
1995 Stony Bay
1994 Dark Ksar
1993 Veandercross
1992 My Eagle Eye
1991 Super Impose
1990 Better Loosen Up
1989 Beau Zam
1988 Beau Zam
1987 Myocard
1986 Late Show
1985 Alibhai
1984 Mr. Mcginty
1983 Dalmacia
1982 Allez Bijou
1981 Hyperno
1980 Minuetto
1979 Marceau
1978 Marceau
1977 Purple Patch
1976 Balmerino
1975 Passetreul
1974 Bankrupt
1973 Gunsynd
1972 Regal Rhythm
1971 Gunsynd
1970 Broker's Tip
1969 Foresight
1968 Regal Rhythm
1967 Striking Force
1966 Even Better
1965 Time And Tide
1964 Wenona Girl
1963 Sky High
1962 Sky High
1961 Wenona Girl
1960 Bardshah
1959 Bold Pilot
1958 Tulloch
1957 Redcraze
1956 Arlunya
1955 Prince Morvi
1954 Gallant Archer
1953 Tarien
1952 Forest Beau
1951 Grey Boots
1950 Dickens
1949 Vagabond
1948 Columnist
1947 Columnist
1946 Bernborough
1945 Veiled Threat
1944 Falcon Knight
1943 Katanga
1942 not held
1941 Beau Vite
1940 Dashing Cavalier
1939 Spear Chief
1938 Sarcherie
1937 Lough Neagh
1936 Lough Neagh
1935 Peter Pan
1934 Rogilla
1933 Lough Neagh
1932 Ammon Ra
1931 Waterline
1930 Nightmarch
1929 Winalot
1928 Limerick
1927 Limerick
1926 Valicare
1925 The Hawk
1924 Whittier
1923 Furious
1922 Beauford
1921 Richmond Main
1920 Artilleryman
1919 Wolaroi
1918 Westcourt
1917 Giru
1916 Cetigne
1915 Cisco
1914 Popinjay
1913 not held
1912 Malt King
1911 Malt King
1910 Bobrikoff
1909 Maltine
1908 Poseidon
1907 Garches
1906 Marvel Loch
1905 Ibex
1904 Air Motor
1903 Great Scot

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers