Randwick Guineas Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Randwick Guineas run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Randwick Guineas

Winners and Past Results for the Randwick Guineas.

One of the premier mile races hosted by the Australian Turf Club is the Group 1 Randwick Guineas during the Sydney autumn racing carnival in March.

Three year old horses compete over 1600 metres under set weight conditions for a purse of $1,000,000 at Randwick Racecourse.

The race attracts a number of top quality milers with the likes of Octagonal in 1996 and Weekend Hussler in 2008 blazing the track at Randwick, to name a few. 

In addition, the winner of this race automatically qualifies for a berth in the AJC Derby and Doncaster Handicap, making it an all important event for horses and their connections. Other major features included in the day's race card are the Group 2 Challenge Stakes and Group 3 Randwick City Stakes, which has now been downgraded as a listed race.

Among the major lead up races is the Group 2 Hobartville Stakes held at Rosehill Races in February. Ilovethiscity proved this point in 2011 by winning both events convincingly. Runner up, Skilled, was third in the Hobartville Stakes while third placed Light Brigade was unplaced in the same event. Earlier in 2010, Shoot Out was runner up in the Hobartville Stakes prior to winning the Randwick Guineas, which proves that the event is a handy form guide for punters looking for a winner and strong place getter.

Horses may move on to target the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas and Group 2 Phar Lap Stakes at Rosehill a few weeks later. The Group 1 George Ryder Stakes over 1500 metres at Rosehill is also a likely follow up event that horses may pass through. Weekend Hussler scored a Randwick Guineas/George Ryder double in 2008.

The Randwick Guineas was earlier known as the Canterbury Guineas with Todman, Beechcraft, High Regard, Kingston Bay, and Arena are just a few among the classy milers to take home the Randwick Guineas in earlier times. Mentality, Weekend Hussler, Metal Bender, and Shoot Out continued the list of fine performers between 2007 and 2010. Shoot Out also went on to win the 2400 M Group 1 AJC Australian Derby. Earlier, the event was held as the Canterbury Guineas over 1900 metres between 1935 and 2005.

For punters, horses that make their way to the Randwick Guineas are definitely the ones to watch closely for the rest of the year.

Year Randwick Guineas Winners
2021 Lion's Roar
2020 Shadow Hero
2019 The Autumn Sun
2018 Kementari
2017 Inference
2016 Le Romain
2015 Hallowed Crown
2014 Dissident
2013 It's A Dundeel
2012 Mosheen
2011 Ilovethiscity
2010 Shoot Out
2009 Metal Bender
2008 Weekend Hussler
2007 Mentality
2006 Hotel Grand
2005 Jymcarew
2004 Niello
2003 Fine Society
2002 Carnegie Express
2001 Universal Prince
2000 Fairway
1999 Arena
1998 Tycoon Lil
1997 Intergaze
1996 Octagonal
1995 Sharscay
1994 Western Red
1993 Kingston Bay
1992 Veandercross
1991 St. Jude
1990 Interstellar
1989 Riverina Charm
1988 High Regard
1987 Tidal Light
1986 Dolcezza
1985 Spirit Of Kingston
1984 Beechcraft
1983 Mr. Mcginty
1982 Rare Form
1981 Ring The Bell
1980 Rocky Top
1979 Red Nose
1978 not held
1977 Belmura Lad
1976 Chasta Bellota
1975 Rosie Heir
1974 Sydney Cove
1973 Imagele
1972 Lord Ben
1971 Egyptian
1970 Royal Show
1969 Bogan Hero
1968 Broker's Tip
1967 Honeyland
1966 Garcon
1965 Fair Summer
1964 Strauss
1963 Summer Fiesta
1962 Summer Prince
1961 Kilshery
1960 Persian Lyric
1959 Martello Towers
1958 Prince Kerdieil
1957 Todman
1956 Movie Boy
1955 Aboukir
1954 Pride Of Egypt
1953 Prince Morvi
1952 Prince Dakhil
1951 Forest Beau
1950 French Cavalier
1949 Delta
1948 Riptide
1947 The Groom
1946 Decorate
1945 Monmouth
1944 Accession
1943 Moorland
1942 San Sebastian
1941 Chatham's Choice
1940 Ensign
1939 Bonny Loch
1938 Respirator
1937 Bristol
1936 Billy Boy
1935 Hadrian

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers