Queen Of The Turf Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Queen Of The Turf Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Queen Of The Turf Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Queen Of The Turf Stakes.

The Queen of the Turf Stakes, run at Randwick Racecourse and hosted by the Australian Turf Club is held on one of the biggest race days during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

The race was transferred to the second day of The Championships and is one of the feature races held on the day, with the main race being the $4 Million Group1 Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Restricted to fillies and mares, this 1600 metre race is held under weight for age conditions and offers $1,000,000 in prize money. The race is considered to be a display of speed, elegance and strength and attracts quality gallopers hoping to enhance their performance over the mile and other middle distance races during the carnival.

Victory is usually earned by the most dominating three year old fillies that have performed well over the last season, with the conditions suiting higher quality gallopers.

The Coolmore Stud Classic is an excellent lead up event to this race.

The Queen of the Turf Stakes was established in 1972 and run over 8 furlongs, as a principal race. In 1979 it was made a Listed race, and received Group 3 status in 1985. In 1991 it was upgraded to Group 2 and finally gained its present status as a Group 1 event in 2004.

The race has been held at the Rosehill track since its inception except for 2008 where it was held at Canterbury Racecourse. In 1972, Refulgence won the event with a time of 1 minute 30 seconds, which was broken in 1993 by Excited Angle who clocked 1 minute 27.46 seconds. The slowest time is credited to 1990 winner Memphis Blues who crossed the winning post in 1 minute 34.15 seconds.

Some of the notable winners include C'est Si Bon in 1982, Memphis Blues in 1990, Sorrento in 2001, and Typhoon Tracy in 2010.

YearQueen Of The Turf Stakes Winners
2020Con Te Partiro
 2015 Amanpour 
2014Diamond Drille
2012More Joyous
2011More Joyous
2010Typhoon Tracy
2007Divine Madonna
2005Ike's Dream
2004In A Bound
1999Camino Rose
1995Light Up The World
1994The Perfume Garden
1993Excited Angel
1992Romanee Conti
1991Ricochet Rosie
1990Memphis Blues
1989Special Finish
1988Chez Paree
1986Harbor Flo
1983More Rain
1982C'Est Si Bon
1979Never Despair
1978Lady Archon
1977Piemelon Bay
1975Just Topic

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers