Pago Pago Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Pago Pago Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Pago Pago Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Pago Pago Stakes.

The Pago Pago Stakes hosted by the Australian Turf Club is a Group 2 race for two year old colts & geldings. The 1200 metre race is run under set weight conditions at Rosehill Garden Racecourse in Sydney as part of the autumn racing carnival.

The winner takes home $175,000 in a race that usually favours horses that can take advantage of the set weight conditions.

The race is scheduled along with the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas and Group 2 Magic Night Stakes, which is the female equivalent of the Pago Pago Stakes.

Connections usually have their eye on the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes that is held a week later since the winner of the Pago Pago Stakes gains automatic entry to the Golden Slipper. Stratum achieved the feat in 2005 although the race has always been considered a great platform for Golden Slipper aspirants.

The Group 3 Skyline Stakes serves as a form guide leading up to the Pago Pago Stakes with Shogun Lodge winning both events in 1999. Runner up in 2009, Hinchinbrook came into the race after winning the Skyline Stakes.

The race attracts the cream of two year old talent amongst the colts and geldings while racegoers can look forward to a tough competition amongst them at Rosehill on one of the biggest days in its racing calendar. As one of the early races in the year, choosing a winner may be tough since the Pago Pago Stakes may be the first event for a two year old although runners ought to be followed closely for the rest of the season.

Horses may consider tackling a variety of group races during the season after a run in the Pago Pago Stakes. This includes the Group 1 Sires Produce Stakes and the Group 1 Champagne Stakes in April.

Among the notable winners in recent times include Danbid in 2003, Deferential in 2007, and Tickets in 2009.

Year Pago Pago Stakes Winners
2020 Prague
2019 Cosmic Force
2018 Written By
2017 Single Bullet
2016 Souchez
2015 Tarquin
2014 Time For War
2013 Sidestep
2012 All Too Hard
2011 Salade
2010 Brightexpectations
2009 Tickets
2008 Siderues
2007 Deferential
2006 Tarleton
2005 Stratum
2004 Genius And Evil
2003 Danbird
2002 Planchet
2001 Red Hannigan
2000 De France
1999 Shogun Lodge
1998 Paris Dream
1997 Encounter
1996 Babu's Boy
1995 Strategic
1994 Lord Jim
1993 Jetball
1992 Yachtie
1991 Big Dreams
1990 Pagan Jest
1989 Straussbrook
1988 Zeditave
1987 Christmas Tree
1986 Imperial Baron
1985 Rory's Jester
1984 Inspire
1983 Te Puninga
1982 Grosvenor
1981 Lead Role
1980 John's Hero
1979 Dawn Command
1978 Cheval De Volee

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers