Golden Rose Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Golden Rose Stakes run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Golden Rose Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Golden Rose Stakes.

The Australian Turf Club hosts the Golden Rose Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse in September during the Sydney spring racing carnival.

The Group 1 race is run over 1400 metres under set weight conditions which favours the above average horses seeking to make their mark in mile races later in the season.

The event is for three year olds with 1 million dollars up for grabs, making it amongst the richest events during the spring carnival leading up to the Cox Plate, Caulfield Cup, and Melbourne Cup.

The Golden Rose Stakes is the first Group 1 event of the spring racing carnival, which has soon become the most sought after event by owners and trainers in a bid to showcase their prime three year old talent.

Many of them have their heart set on the other prestigious events held in the upcoming season in Sydney and Melbourne. Other group races held on the same day are the Group 2 Theo Marks Stakes and Group 3 Kingston Town Stakes, with a total of over $1.3 million in prize money at stake on the day.

In recent times, the 1300m Group 3 Run To The Rose has proved to be an excellent form guide and warm up event before the Golden Rose Stakes. Paratrooper in 2005 and Denman in 2009 managed to win both events while Mentality won the Run To The Rose before placing third in the 2006 Golden Rose Stakes. Many place getters have retained their form or improved on it during the course of the two events.

Another warm up race to follow includes the Group 3 Silver Shadow Stakes for three year old fillies and Group 3 Up and Coming Stakes for three year old colts and geldings at Warwick Farm. Court Command scored a Up and Coming/Golden Rose Stakes in 2006 while Duporth improved on a third place in the Up and Coming to win the 2008 Golden Rose Stakes.

For punters, in form horses in these events ought to be followed closely during the season. 2011 winner, Manawanui, also won the Up and Coming Stakes and carried his fine form in his next outing in the Group 2 Stan Fox Stakes over 1500m at Rosehill. This was followed by a spirited second place in the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas over 1600m and another victory in the Group 2 Mitchelton Wines Vase over 2040 M at Moonee Valley in October.

Year ATC Golden Rose Stakes Winner
2020 Ole Kirk
2019 Bivouac
2018 The Autumn Sun
2017 Trapeze Artist
2016 Astern
2015 Exosphere
2014 Hallowed Crown
2013 Zoustar
2012 Epaulette
2011 Manawanui
2010 Toorak Toff
2009 Denman
2008 Duporth
2008 Forensics
2007 not held
2006 Court Command
2005 Paratroopers
2002 Sportsman
2001 Magic Albert
2000 Dandify
1999 Fairway
1998 Huge Jet
1997 On Air
1996 not held
1995 Flying Spur
1994 Brave Warrior
1993 March Hare
1992 Play Or Pay
1991 Big Dreams
1990 Imperial Magician
1989 Party Mood
1988 Swiftly Carson
1987 Roman General
1986 Drought
1985 Handy Proverb
1984 Black Ivory
1983 Sir Dapper
1982 Cossack Prince
1981 Best Western
1980 Impish Prince
1979 Kingston Town
1978 Kapalaran