Frank Packer Plate Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Frank Packer Plate run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Frank Packer Plate

Winners and Past Results for the Frank Packer Plate.

An important race in the big list of events hosted by the Australian Turf Club is the Frank Packer Plate held annually in April.

It is a Group 3 race held under set weight conditions. 3 year old horses take part in Frank Packer Plate open to both fillies and mares.

The race is held over a distance of 2000 metres at Randwick Racecourse, Sydney, New South Wales. The Frank Packer Plate is organised on the same day as the Group 1 All Aged Stakes and Group 1 ATC Champagne Stakes. For this reason, Randwick Racecourse is packed to capacity with race goers wishing to spread their wager over the long race card.

The race attracts prize money worth $150,000.

In comparison with other Group races, the Frank Packer Plate is new to the Australian racing calendar. It was inaugurated in 1980 as a Group 2 event and held over a distance of 2000 metres under set weight conditions. The winner of that event was Lauriat. From 1980 to 1990 it remained a Group 2 event but in 1991 it was downgraded to its present Group 3 status.

Those 3 year old gallopers who were not able to participate in the AJC Australian Derby or in the AJC Australian Oaks held over a distance of 2400 metres often take part in this middle distance event.

Prior to participating in the Frank Packer Plate many horses test their mettle in other popular 2000 metre events such as the Group 2 Tulloch Stakes held at Rosehill Racecourse or the Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes, which is held for fillies at Randwick. Many of the winners of the Frank Packer Plate, after developing their galloping skills gradually become top line middle distance gallopers, milers, or stayers.

Shadows In The Sun, winner in 2011, finished sixth in the Frank Packer Plate before winning the South Australian Derby. Might and Power, for example, won the Frank Packer Plate in 1997 and later become the Melbourne Cup Champion.

Recent star winners of the Frank Packer Plate are Shootoff in 2011, Dariana in 2010 and Yallingup in 2009. Earlier, Freemason, Clangalang, and Dream Machine were among the star gallopers to win the title. Several horses that perform well move up north for the Brisbane winter carnival.

Year Frank Packer Plate Winners 
2021Senor Toba
2019The Chosen One
2018Higher Ground
2017Mongolian Wolf
2016He's Our Rokkii
2015 Hi World 
2014Arabian Gold
2012Fat Al
2007Carnegie House
2006Dream Machine
2004Red Terror
2002Arlington Road
2001Spurred On
1999Franklin Rivers
1997Might And Power
1996Mr. Piper
1993Play Or Pay
1992In The Event
1991Bold Rancher
1989Royal Pardon
1987Never Quit
1986Swift Cheval
1985Spritely Native
1984Pleasant Star

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers