Doncaster Prelude Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Doncaster Prelude run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results for the Doncaster Prelude

Winners and Past Results for the Doncaster Prelude.

The Group 3 Doncaster Prelude is hosted by the Australian Turf Club and is run over 1600 metres at the Rosehill Racecourse each year in April during the Autumn Racing Carnival. The race is for 3yo & Upwards and is an Open Handicap race with prize money worth $150,000.

It is run on the same day as the Golden Slipper Stakes and The BMW.

The Doncaster Prelude inaugural event took place in 1988. At that time it was called the Royal Parma Stakes and was won by Tumble On.

The race was elevated in 2011 to become a Group 3 race.

Lead up races for the Doncaster Prelude could include the Group 3 Newcastle Newmarket Handicap over 1400 metres at Newcastle and the Group 2 Ajax Stakes over 1500 metres at Rosehill Racecourse.

The Doncaster Prelude is the main lead up race for the Group 1 Doncaster Handicap held the following week at the same track and distance.

In recent times, in 2010, Blue Light came second in the Newmarket Handicap and the went on and won the Ajax Stakes before winning this event and then placing 3rd in the Doncaster Handicap.

YearDoncaster Prelude Winners
2021Yao Dash
2019Mister Sea Wolf
2016Havana Cooler
2015Excess Knowledge
2012Fast Clip
2011My Kingdom Of Fife
2010Brilliant Light
2009Dao Dao
2007Mr Ubiquitous
2005Osca Warrior
2001Final Fantasy
2000Le Zagaletta
1998Corporate James
1993Blue Boss
1991Livistona Lane
1990Painted Ocean
1989Card Shark
1988Tumble On

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers