Craven Plate Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Craven Plate run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Craven Plate

Winners and Past Results for the Craven Plate.

The Australian Turf Club hosts the Craven Plate, a Group 3 open race at the Randwick Racecourse in October during the spring racing carnival in Sydney.

In the Craven Plate horses travel over a distance of 2000 meters in this weight for age race that attracts prize money worth $500,000.

The Epsom Handicap and the Group 1 The Metropolitan are slotted what is the biggest day of the spring carnival.

Punters have a packed race card to spread their bets over other Group 1 races as well, which include the Flight Stakes and Spring Champion Stakes.

This race suits staying types who compete in the last weight for age race of the spring carnival. The Group 2 Hill Stakes held at Rosehill Racecourse in September or the Group 1 George Main Stakes 2 weeks earlier at Randwick usually attracts in-form sprinters for the Craven Plate, which serves as a good form guide.

Most recently, European import, My Kingdom of Fife, was runner up in the Group 2 Chelmsford Stakes at Randwick before romping home in style in the 2011 Craven Plate.

The Craven Plate was first held way back in 1869 with Yattendon recorded as the first winner. It remained a principal race until 1984 and was then a listed race till it achieved Group 3 status in 1993.

Among the outstanding horses to etch their name on the Craven Plate as much as three times in its early years include The Barb, the mighty Phar Lap, Peter Pan, Tim Whiffler, Carbine, Chatham, Windbag, Duke Foote, Prince Darius, Summer Fair and many more.

As a Listed race, Hayai scored back to back victories while Mummify in 2005, Lorne Dancer in 2008, and C'est le Guerre in 2010 are among the recent winners. Following his 2005 victory, Mummify ran a spirited race carrying top weight in the Caulfield Cup right from the start but was forced into third place after shattering a sesamoid bone on his foreleg, following which he had to be euthanized.

In 2010, C'est le Guerre ran 5th in the Group 2 Makybe Diva Stakes at Flemington Racecourse before winning the Craven Plate.

In 2009, Miss Marielle won the Group 2 Hill Stakes at Rosehill in September prior to finishing a clear winner in the Craven Plate.

Year Craven Plate Winners
2020 Think It Over
2019 Happy Clapper
2018 Moss 'n' Dale
2017 Classic Uniform
2016 It's Somewhat
2015 Complacent
2014 Moriarty
2013 Honorius
2012 Mourayan
2011 My Kingdom Of Fife
2010 C'est le Guerre
2009 Miss Marielle
2008 Lorne Dancer
2007 not held
2006 Cateclipse
2005 Mummify
2004 Fiery Venture
2003 Shower Of Roses
2002 Manner Hill
2001 The Man
2000 Yippyio
1999 Tie The Knot
1998 Sharscay
1997 Yippyio
1996 Adventurous
1995 Stony Bay
1994 Fraternity
1993 Mahaya
1992 Telesto
1991 Lord Revenir
1990 Dual Treasures
1989 Sarah Fay
1988 Balciano
1987 Ostensible
1986 Sotip
1985 Hayai
1984 Hayai
1978 Ming Dynasty
1977 Denise's Joy
1976 Battle Heights
1975 Dalrello
1974 Leica Lover
1973 Analie
1972 Passetreul
1971 Regal Rhythm
1970 Planet Kingdom
1969 Roman Consul
1968 Prince Grant
1967 Winfreux
1966 Prince Grant
1965 Strauss
1964 Summer Regent
1963 Summer Fair
1962 Summer Fair
1961 Nilarco
1960 Tulloch
1959 Travel Boy
1958 Prince Darius
1957 Prince Darius
1956 Caranna
1955 Prince Cortauld
1954 Prince Cortauld
1953 Tarien
1952 Hydrogen
1951 Hydrogen
1950 Playboy
1949 Carbon Copy
1948 Karachi
1947 Russia
1946 not held
1945 Flight
1944 Tea Rose
1943 Flight
1942 Yaralla
1941 Beau Vite
1940 Beau Vite
1939 High Caste
1938 Young Idea
1937 Talking
1936 Gay Blonde
1935 Peter Pan
1934 Chatham
1933 Chatham
1932 Chatham
1931 Phar Lap
1930 Phar Lap
1929 Phar Lap
1928 Amounis
1927 Limerick
1926 Windbag
1925 Windbag
1924 Gloaming
1923 Rivoli
1922 Gloaming
1921 Beauford
1920 Greenstead
1919 Gloaming
1918 Cetigne
1917 Biplane
1916 Carlita
1915 St. Carwyne
1914 Woorak
1913 Duke Foote
1912 Duke Foote
1911 Lady Medallist
1910 Parsee
1909 Maltine
1908 Mooltan
1907 Mountain King
1906 Solution
1905 Gladsome
1904 Emir
1903 Ibex
1902 Wakeful
1901 Hautvilliers
1900 Paul Pry
1899 Le Var
1898 The Grafter
1897 Delaware
1896 Newhaven
1895 Delaware
1894 Patron
1893 Loyalty
1892 Bungebah
1891 Marvel
1890 Carbine
1889 Abercorn
1888 Abercorn
1887 Trident
1886 Trident
1885 Nordenfeldt
1884 Sir Modred
1883 Legrand
1882 Sting
1881 Wellington
1880 Sweetmeat
1879 Baronet
1878 Chester
1877 Robinson Crusoe
1876 Malta 2
1876 Valentia
1875 Kingsborough
1874 Maid Of Avenel
1873 Hamlet
1872 Dagworth
1871 Tim Whiffler
1870 Tim Whiffler
1869 Glencoe
1868 The Barb
1867 Yattendon

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers