Challenge Stakes - Run by the ATC at Randwick Racecourse

ATC Challenge Stakes run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Challenge Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the ATC Challenge Stakes.

The Australian Turf Club Group 2 Challenge Stakes is a century-old weight for age open race held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney.

The Autumn Racing Carnival features a number of races with quality mares and fillies competing in the Group ATC Challenge Stakes. The race held in mid- March is run over a distance of 1000 meters with a total of $400,000 in prize money up for grabs among a field of handy sprinters.

Being a race run at Weight For Age, the notable gallopers have a distinct advantage and usually oblige their connections and punters with an impressive run.

The event serves as a lead up to the 1100 meters Group 2 Star Kingdom Stakes on Golden Slipper Stakes Day at Rosehill Racecourse. Some of the runners move on to Randwick for the Group 1 The Galaxy also run over 1000 meters.

The inaugural AJC Challenge Stakes in 1906 was won by a horse named The Pet.

The event was a principal race until 1978 after which it was upgraded to Group 2 status. Golden Hop was the first to score back to back victories in 1913 and 1914. Felbeam repeated the feat in 1945 and 1946 followed by San Domenico in 1949 and 1950. Razor Sharp and At Sea stamped their authority on the AJC Challenge Stakes with three consecutive victories from 1982-1984 and 1985-1987 respectively. Cangronde won the 1997 trophy with a repeat performance in 1998 as well. Star Of Florida followed suit in 2003 and 2004. Tar Girl, who clocked 58.5 seconds, is the first recorded winner of the AJC Challenge Stakes in 1966.

The fastest time of 56.2 seconds set by Zephyr Bay in 1975 was eclipsed by De Lightning Ridge in 2010, with a record breaking 55.92 seconds.

The race is a true test for quality sprinters who desire to make it to Group 1 races towards the end of the autumn racing carnival.

The Group 1 Lightning Stakes at Flemington Racecourse is what punters ought to pay great attention to, as many horses enter the field in the AJC Challenge Stakes after an outing in Melbourne.

Crack sprinters usually head for a showdown in the TJ Smith Stakes at Randwick Racecourse following a good performance in the race. Bomber Bill, a perennial favorite with the Australian crowd was among a notable winner in the 2002 AJC Challenge Stakes, amassing over $1.8 million in prize money over his career.

Year Challenge Stakes Winners
2021 Eduardo
2020 Nature Strip
2019 Ball Of Muscle
2018 Redzel
2017 English
2016 English
2015 Miracles Of Life
2014 Villa Verde
2013 Snitzerland
2012 Rain Affair
2011 Hay List
2010 De Lightning Ridge
2009 Olonana
2008 Hurried Choice
2007 Spark Of Life
2006 Snitzel
2005 Impaler
2004 Star Of Florida
2003 Star Of Florida
2002 Bomber Bill
2001 Pimpala Prince
2000 Easy Rocking
1999 Ab Initio
1998 Cangronde
1997 Cangronde
1996 Light Up The World
1995 Moss Rocket
1994 Classic Magic
1993 Spanish Mix
1992 All Archie
1991 Lightning Bend
1990 Show County
1989 Groucho
1988 Snippets
1987 At Sea
1986 At Sea
1985 At Sea
1984 Razor Sharp
1983 Razor Sharp
1982 Razor Sharp
1981 Steel Blade
1980 Acamar
1979 Christole
1978 Monreale
1977 Crimson Cloud
1976 River Ridge
1975 Zephyr Bay
1974 War Island
1973 Bounty
1972 Playbill
1971 Farlara
1970 Biarritz Star
Constant Rhythm
1969 Gay Gauntlet
1968 Dawn Boy
1967 Gay Gauntlet
1966 Tar Girl
1965 Time And Tide
1964 The Tempest
1963 Wenona Girl
1962 Rush Bye
1961 Gili
1960 Olympiad
1959 Huntly
1958 Dubbo
1957 My Kingdom
1956 Apple Bay
1955 Gay Vista
1954 Tarien
1953 Apex
1952 True Leader
1951 Donegal
1950 San Domenico
1949 San Domenico
1948 Gay Monarch
1947 Brazier
1946 Felbeam
1945 Felbeam
1944 Yaralla
1943 Gold Salute
1942 High Caste
1941 Caesar
1940 High Caste
1939 Bradford
1938 Hammer Head
1937 Silver Rose
1936 Heritor
1935 The Marne
1934 Air Queen
1933 Captivation
1932 Golden Gate
1931 Casque D'Or
1930 Venetian Lady
1929 Whitta
1928 Greenline
1927 Don Moon
1926 Quixotic
1925 The Hawk
1924 Laneffe
1923 Duke Isinglass
1922 Sir Maitland
1921 Maltgilla
1920 Aries
1919 Sydney Damsel
1918 Bonnie Plume
1917 Wedding Day
1916 Quinn's Post
1915 Ninfia
1914 Golden Hop
1913 Golden Hop
1912 Pride Of Murillo
1911 Poi Dance
1910 Fille Fogi
1909 Neith
1908 Lord Merv
1907 Queen's Court
1906 The Pet

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Bet Ticker - see where the big bets land
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Same Game Multi on more sports than ever
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
Same Race Multi! Multi Betting Grew A Leg
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers