ATC Chairmans Handicap. Winners And Past Results Of The Chairmans Handicap

ATC Chairmans Handicap run at the Randwick Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Chairmans Handicap

Winners and Past Results for the Chairmans Handicap.

The Australian Turf Club Chairmans Handicap is a Group 2 open handicap horse race for three year old horses and upwards with quality runners galloping over a distance of 2600 meters.

The annual event at the Royal Randwick Racecourse is held on a Saturday in early April during the Sydney racing carnival. The open handicap race has a minimum of 52 kg and maximum of 61 kg.

The race involves prize money worth $300,000 with the winner exempt from ballot and penalty for the Sydney Cup.

The event is held on the day of the Group 1 AJC Australian Derby, one of the richest races, with top front-running performances by some of the best horses to blaze the nation’s race tracks. Other premier races held on the day are the Group 1 ATC Sires Produce Stakes, a 1400 meter race for two-year-olds and the Group 1 TJ Smith Stakes run over 1200 meters.

For many horses and trainers, the AJC Chairmans Handicap is the perfect warm up for the Group 1 Sydney Cup, a long distance race held two weeks later during the carnival. The race has witnessed many stayers move on to compete in a quality field in the Sydney Cup.

Among the notable winners to score a Chairmans Handicap/Sydney Cup double are King Aussie in 1990, Linesman in 1997 and Henderson Bay in 2002. Now Wine No Song and Jessicabeel also repeated the feat in 2008 and 2010 respectively. Ista Kareem, who managed a 4th place in the 2009 AJC Chairmans Handicap improved dramatically to lift the Sydney Cup the same year.

Jessicabeel also managed both trophies in 2010, with Harris Tweed an impressive third in both races as well. No Wine No Song has the distinction of winning back to back AJC Chairmans Handicap titles in 2007 and 2008. Constant performer, Steel Phoenix won his first title in 1999 and returned in 2001 to lift the trophy once again.

The first ATC Chairmans Handicap, won by Lady Dignitas, was held in 1979. Henderson Bay, the 2002 winner of the Chairmans Handicap recorded the fastest time of 2 minutes and 29.79 seconds. The 2003 champion, Fooram, is a multiple stakes winner with jockey Darren Beadman in the saddle. Beadman won the AJC Australian Derby 45 minutes earlier after steering Headturner, trained by John Hawkes, to victory. With the next big race being the Sydney Cup, the AJC Charimans Handicap proves to be a great form guide for punters around the nation.

Year Chairmans Handicap Winners
2020 Raheen House
2019 Gallic Chieftain
2018 Sir Charles Road
2017 Big Duke
2016 Libran
2015 Tremec
2014 The Offer
2013 Tremec
2012 Permit
2011 Once Were Wild
2010 Jessicabeel
2009 Divine Rebel
2008 No Wine No Song
2007 No Wine No Song
2006 Fooram
2005 Philosophe
2004 Mummify
2003 Grey Song
2002 Henderson Bay
2001 Steel Phoenix
2000 Pravda
1999 Steel Phoenix
1998 Joss Sticks
1997 Linesman
1996 Cornwall King
1995 Spiritual Star
1994 Paris Fire
1993 Te Akau Nick
1992 Demerit
1991 Prizaan
1990 King Aussie
1989 Just Trish
1988 Round The World
1987 Major Drive
1986 Marooned
1985 Duanette's Girl
1984 What A Nuisance
1983 Lord Mop
1982 Bianco Lady
1981 Gatcombe
1980 Just Jealous
1979 Lady Dignitas

Top Betting Offers & Promotions

Sportsbet Logo
Up To $50 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
PlayUp Logo
PlayUp Get In The Game
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Unibet Logo
Exclusive Offer 4 x Matched Racing Bet Bonuses Up To $25 Each
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia Highly Recommended
Join Now
T&Cs available on website. Gamble Responsibly. 18+
Check All Offers