Breeders Classic Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Breeders Classic run at the Rosehill Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Breeders Classic

Winners and Past Results for the Breeders Classic.

The Breeders Classic is among the most exciting Group 2 events held annually at the Warwick Farm racecourse in Sydney in mid February.

The race fields some of the finest four year old mares seeking to stamp their authority on the Rosehill track over a distance of 1200 meters at the autumn racing carnival.

Hosted by the Australian Turf Club, the Breeders Classic is run under set weight plus penalties with a total of $200,000 at stake for the winners.

This mares only event is held on the same day as the Group 3 Widden Stakes and is the first group race of the year for females in the metropolitan area. Set weight conditions allow solid sprinting mares and classy females returning from a spell to run at their peak and become a favorite with punters.

Mares often make their way to the Breeders Classic from the Villiers Stakes. Top class mares to win the Breeders Classic over the past decade include Staging in 2000, Miss Helterskelter in 2003, Winning Belle in 2005, Gallant Tess in 2008, the talented Hot Danish in 2009, Alverta in 2010, and More Joyous in 2011.

The race usually brings up a field of handy mares to test punters to the limit. Some of the finest mares find their way to the Breeders Classic after a run in the Group 1 WS Cox Plate at Moonee Valley. More Joyous, the 2011 champion, was unplaced in the Cox Plate before scoring a comfortable victory in the Breeders Classic. Other top quality Australian mares to engrave their names on the trophy include Arletty in 1998 and Gwendolyn in 2002.

The first Breeders Classic was held in 1996, which was won by a New Zealand horse, Destruct.

Private Steer, the 2004 champion holds the record for the fastest time of 1 minute and 8.31 seconds. Several mares to compete in the Breeders Classic may have run in the Expressway Stakes, a 1200 meter race held a week earlier on the Randwick tracks.

Gai Waterhouse trained More Joyous, the 2011 winner, proved a point that set weights favour in form mares, scoring the first win of the season by convincingly beating Graceful Anna by two lengths. She went on to win the 2011 Futurity Stakes at Caulfield Racecourse and the Canterbury Stakes and Queen Of The Turf Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse in fine fashion, which should serve as a definitive form guide for punters.

Year Breeders Classic Winners
2020 Savatiano
2019 Champagne Cuddles
2018 Prompt Response
2017 In Her Time
2016 Amicus
2015 Catkins
2014 Catkins
2013 Steps In Time
2012 Steps In Time
2011 More Joyous
2010 Alverta
2009 Hot Danish
2008 Gallant Tess
2007 Pasikatera
2006 Steflara
2005 Winning Belle
2004 Private Steer
2003 Miss Helterskelter
2002 Gwendolyn
2001 Spinning Hill
2000 Staging
1999 My Halo Broke
1998 Arletty
1997 Misty Dawn
1996 Destruct

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
Ladbrokes  Logo
Double Your Winnings Daily Promotions
Join Now
^Excl SA. Head to the promotions page on the website to find out how to claim. Available a ...More
Winners Bet Logo
Top Tote, Exclusive Offers
and Premium Rewards
Join Now
New customers only. 18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Neds Logo
Up To $100 Bonus Bets Horse Runs 2nd or 3rd
Join Now
*Excl SA. Available at selected track only (changes daily). First fixed odds win bet only ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Racing Bonus Equal To 2nd Bet Up To $100
Join Now
Bonus $100 2nd Bet Existing customers only. 2nd racing bet. Excl WA & SA. Gamble Respo ...More
Check All Offers