Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Bill Ritchie Handicap 2022 Tips, News, Winners and Past Results

Bill Ritchie Handicap is a Group 3 race held at Randwick Racecourse over 1400 metres annually. Prize money for the event is worth $160,000. Date for this year's Bill Ritchie Handicap is 17/9/22

Winners and Past Results for the Bill Ritchie Handicap

The 1400 meter Bill Ritchie Handicap held at Randwick Racecourse in Sydney during the spring racing carnival is a Group 3 open handicap race.

2022 Bill Ritchie Handicap Information

Date Of The Bill Ritchie Handicap: 17/9/22

Time Of The Bill Ritchie Handicap: TBA

Venue For The Bill Ritchie Handicap: Randwick Racecourse

How To Live Stream The Bill Ritchie Handicap

To live stream the Bill Ritchie Handicap, Sign Up To TAB and watch the race for free.

How To Bet On The Bill Ritchie Handicap

Recommended Online Bookmaker To Bet On For The Bill Ritchie Handicap: Ladbrokes

My 2022 Bill Ritchie Handicap Betting Tips

1. TBA

2. TBA

3. TBA

More Details About The Bill Ritchie Handicap

Hosted by the Australian Turf Club, the event offers prize money worth $160,000 and attracts a fine crop of three year old and upwards horses every September.

The winner of the race is exempt from a ballot and penalty at the Group 1 Epsom Handicap, which is held on the final day of the carnival over a distance of 1600 meters, which is why it attracts a classy field of gallopers.

The Bill Ritchie Handicap is usually won by handy horses that enter the race after an outing in the Group 3 Newcastle Cameron Handicap at Newcastle and Theo Marks Stakes at Rosehill Racecourse.

After finishing third in the 2010 Bill Ritchie Handicap, Captain Sonador won the Epsom Handicap in an impressive fashion in his very next start.

Other lead up races to the event include the 1400 meter Group 3 Tramway Quality Handicap at Warwick Farm Racecourse. The winner of the 2011 Bill Ritchie Handicap, Thankgodyou'rehere, came via this route after a third place in the Tramway Quality Handicap.

The Bill Ritchie Handicap is held on the same day as the Group 1 George Main Stakes. The race was named after New South Wales racehorse owner and breeder, Bill Ritchie.

The event was formerly known as the AJC Squatters' Handicap since its inception in 1989 with Royal Reel becoming the first to win the trophy. It remained a listed race until 1998 when it was granted a Group 3 status.

The event was renamed the ATC Bill Ritchie Handicap in 1994.

Zabarra, the Jack Denham-trained gelding won two consecutive races in 2002-03. Zabarra had an incredible run preceding the Bill Ritchie Handicap with three wins and three places from only eight outings prior to the event. Other notable winners include Prince of Praise in 1992, Bezeal Bay in 1998, Flaming in 2005, and McClintock and Drumbeats in 2009 and 2010 respectively.

Bill Ritchie Handicap Past Winners

2018Siege Of Quebec
2017Comin' Through
2016Sons Of John
2015Sadler's Lake
2012Steps In Time
2007not held
2004Osca Warrior
1999Brave Prince
1998Bezeal Bay
1997Holy Roller
1996Mamzelle Pedrille
1993Belas Knap
1992Prince Of Praise
1990Our Poverty By
1989Royal Reel

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Place a TOTE win bet on Races 1-6 at 3 Tracks, run 2nd or 3rd, get up to $50 back in Bonus Bets!
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. First Tote win bet placed online. See promotions page for full T&C ...More
Palmerbet Logo
$100 Bonus Matched
2nd Racing Bet*
Join Now
Excl WA. Max Racing Bonus $100. 2nd Racing Bet. Racing Bonus Bets only. Existing Customer ...More
Unibet Logo
Bet On Racing
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Dabble Logo
FOLLOW other punters, COPY their bets, and BANTER with your mates
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Check All Offers