January Thoroughbred Racing in NSW and Victoria

There are only seven Group races for Australian thoroughbreds in the month of January. Five of those are Group 3 and two are Group 2.

The two Group 2s are both 1200 m weight for age events. The Australia Stakes will be held at Moonee Valley on January 27 and the Expressway Stakes the following day at Rosehill.

Most racing punters in January will be turning their eyes toward the races happening on the Gold Coast, specifically the various events of the Magic Millions series.

The Australia Stakes was first run as a Listed race in 1989 and from that first year until 1997, it was known as the Stanley Wootton Stakes and it was lifted to Group 3 status in 1990. From 1998 until 2009, the race was called the Norman Carlyon Stakes. The first year of being run as the Australia Stakes was 2010. A very famous filly named Black Caviar won the race in 2010 and 2012. The other notable was Schialli, the 1993 winner that won eight Group 1 races, including two Lightning Stakes and two Futurity Stakes.

The Expressway Stakes made its debut in 1974 and has moved all around NSW before settling at Rosehill in 2015. It has also seen the distance modified various times, but has been 1200 m since 2005. The most famous of the winners was 1980 winner Kingston Town.

*© 2019 Pro Group Racing - Gamble Responsibly 18+ Is Gambling A Problem For You? Call Gambling Help On 1800 858 858 Or Visit www.gamblinghelponline.org.au

Offers For New ACC Only, Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover Requirements & Expiry Period Apply. See T&Cs On Website

Subscribe to our mailing list and receive a Free Racing Ebook