Biggest Winners of the 2016 – 2017 Thoroughbred Racing Season

With the last Group 1 race of the 2016 – 2017 Australian thoroughbred racing season in the books following the running of the Tatt’s Tiara at Doomben (Winter Stakes), here is a brief breakdown of the top winners for the season.

As for trainers and stables, Chris Waller led the pack with nine Group 1 wins, but Darren Weir trailed by only one, with eight. David and Ben Hayes, along with Tom Dabernig, won five Group 1 races.

A big pack at four Group 1s included John O’Shea, the Snowden duo of Peter and Paul, Ciaron Maher and Kris Lees. Mick price came in with three, as did the Hawkes operation.

Unretired Gai Waterhouse and Adrian Bott, Leon and Troy Corstens, Murray Baker and Andrew Forsman, and Gary Portelli won two apiece.

In the ranks of the jockeys, Hugh Bowman was the head of the class by a substantial margin. He won 13 times at the Group 1 level, followed by Kerrin McEvoy at nine.

After those two, it would almost seem as though Brad Rawiller, Corey Brown and Damian Lane had bad seasons, if four Group 1 wins could in any way shape or form be considered substandard.

James McDonald and Ben Melham both added three to their career tallies.

Eight hoops bagged two Group 1 wins this season, including the June Jockey of the Month, Dean Yendall, who finally broke through at the Group 1 level after serving for years as one of the hardest working, most reliable hoops in the business.

When we look at the horses, we find Winx with six wins. She played a major role in the stellar seasons of Chris Waller and Hugh Bowman.

Black Hart Bart had a season that could have landed him the Horse of the Year accolade, had he not been misfortunate in his timing.

Global Glamour, Le Romain, Egg Tart and Jameka each won twice at Group 1 level.

Since there are 72 Group 1 races on the calendar, we would have to point out that there is a substantial group of trainers, jockeys and horses that won Group 1 races in singular fashion.

*© 2019 Pro Group Racing - Gamble Responsibly 18+ Is Gambling A Problem For You? Call Gambling Help On 1800 858 858 Or Visit

Offers For New ACC Only, Exc NSW, SA, WA & VIC. Turnover Requirements & Expiry Period Apply. See T&Cs On Website

Subscribe to our mailing list and receive a Free Racing Ebook