Upcoming Group Races

Advertiser Disclosure

This website is a free online resource that strives to offer helpful content and comparison features to our visitors. We accept advertising compensation from companies that appear on the site, which impacts the location and order in which brands (and/or their products) are presented, and also impacts the score that is assigned to it. Company listings on this page DO NOT imply endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our Terms of Use, all representations and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including pricing, which appears on this site is subject to change at any time.

Got It

Port Lincoln Racecourse Details & Map | Port Lincoln Racing Club

Port Lincoln Racecourse, Port Lincoln Racing Club. Description and details including a map of the racecourse.

Port Lincoln Racecourse is located at Proper Bay Road Port Lincoln, South Australia.

The Port Lincoln Racecourse and the Port Lincoln Racing Club dates back to the early 1920's with popular picnic styled race meetings conducted at Coomunga, land that is now rich in agricultural produce to the region.

The racecourse is located on the Eyre Peninsula of South Australia; known for breathtaking scenery, seafood, surf and a love of thoroughbred racing. The main event on the clubs racing calendar is the Port Lincoln Cup Carnival which is held in March annually. Twilight racing across the Summer months are a great way to spend an evening.

The Port Lincoln and North Shields Racing Club relocated to its present location in 1946 with thoroughbred racing today conducted under the business name of Port Lincoln Racing Club Incorporated.

Apart from being hailed as the region's major sporting event of the year, the Cup Carnival at the Port Lincoln Racecourse attracts large crowds providing the city of Port Lincoln with a considerable and significant revenue injection. Another major race to be held at Port Lincoln Racecourse is the Kimba Cup for the Kimba Racing Club later in March.

The Port Lincoln Racing Club is today regarded as one of the states leading regional country racing clubs that continues to play an important role in the future growth and development of thoroughbred racing in South Australia.

The Carlton & United Beverages Function Centre at the Port Lincoln Racecourse was officially opened on 20th February 2005. The response to this exciting venture has been outstanding.

The functions at Port Lincoln Racecourse range from special formal occasions to many different types of corporate functions.


Proper Bay Road
Port Lincoln,
South Australia 5606
PO Box 17,
Port Lincoln,
SA 5606
Ph. (08) 8682 3851

The town of Balaklava is situated on the outskirts of Adelaide and is 90 kilometres away from the urban centre.

Port Lincoln Racing Club members can enjoy benefits such as entrance to all 15 race meets, exclusive car park for members, entrance to the Mermion Bar, discounts on member-only offers and invitation to members-only luncheons. Members of Port Lincoln also get reciprocal rights to the Murray Bridge Racing Club.

Racecourse Details:

The Port Lincoln Racecourse has a circumference of 1,550 metres and a straight of 280 metres, a relatively short straight.

The course is a relatively tight circuit with good coverage of grass and well banked home turn giving horses making ground every chance. It has a long sweeping turn from the 900 metre mark.

The race course generally favours horses which like racing close to the lead.

Field sizes range in maximum from 12-14.

The Port Lincoln Racecourse has four starting chutes that cater to various race distances. The different race distances also have different distances coming into the first turn.

For the 1400-metre race, the distance from the starting area to the first turn is just 175m. For the 1200m and the 1700m race, the distance before the turn is 210m. For the 1000m race the distance is 230m while the distance from the start to the first turn of a 1250m race and a 1750m race is 260m. A 1350m race has a start to first turn distance of 360m while the 1910m and 1950m races have a start to first turn distance of 420m.

Nearby racecourses include Clare Racecourse, Balaklava Racecourse and Gawler Racecourse

Punters, maximize your horse racing betting experience! Sign up for free and enjoy free betting tips, special betting offers, and up-to-date horse racing news.SIGN ME UP!
TAB Logo
Races 1-6 Horse Runs 2/3 Up To $50 Bonus
Join Now
*Excludes WA residents. This Saturday 2/7/22 All 3 tracks, First Tote win bet placed onlin ...More
bet365 Logo
Bet365 Australia
Highly Recommended
Join Now
18+ T&Cs and wagering requirements apply
Ladbrokes  Logo
Live Betting Now on Racing
Get on After the Jump
Join Now
T&Cs apply and available on website. Gamble responsibly. www.gamblinghelponline.org.au. 18 ...More
Unibet AU Logo
Racing Bet
& Get Up To $200
Join Now
T+C Existing Customers Only. Excludes SA. 18+ T&C’s and wagering requirements apply.
Check All Offers