Silver Shadow Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Silver Shadow Stakes run at the Warwick Farm Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Silver Shadow Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Sliver Shadow Stakes.

The Australian Turf Club conducts a number of group races during the winter racing carnival which includes the Group 2 Silver Shadow Stakes towards the end of August.

The race was elevated from a Group 3 event to a Group 2 in August 2013.

For many promising sprinters the event is a springboard to higher group races during the spring racing carnival beginning in September.

The Silver Shadow Stakes is among the last black type races for three year old fillies under set weight conditions during the winter carnival. Horses travel over 1200 metres at the Randwick track for a shot at $175,000 on a day which includes the Group 2 Warwick Stakes and Group 3 Up And Coming Stakes.

Some fillies may enter the field in the Silver Shadow Stakes after a spell while others may come in from a variety of handicap and group races. First up in 2011, Pane In The Glass, came in from a spell while runner up, Florentina won a handicap event over 1300 metres at the Rosehill Races on the way here.

The 1400 M Group 2 Furious Stakes at Randwick is one of the main targets next in line for a number of three year old fillies followed by the Group 2 Tea Rose Stakes at Rosehill. Pane In The Glass ran fourth in the Furious Stakes and improved considerably to finish second in the Tea Rose Stakes.

Florentina also managed to hold on to second spot in the Furious Stakes. Streama who finished third behind Florentina in 2011, made amends by winning the Furious Stakes in her next run. For punters, winners and place getters in both events ought to be followed closely.

Victory Vein in 2002, Mnemosyne in 2005, and Samantha Miss in 2008 all managed to score a Silver Shadow Stakes/Furious Stakes double. Samantha Miss is one of the outstanding mares to win a number of group races following the Silver Shadow Stakes but was unfortunately injured, bringing an end to her impressive racing career.

Gold Edition is another outstanding mare to add the Silver Shadow Stakes to her tally and move on to bigger victories over her career.

Moabite is recorded as the first winner as a Group 3 event in 1980. The race was elevated to Group 2 in 1993 but has remained a Group 3 event since 2005.

Year The Silver Shadow Stakes Winner
2018 Fiesta
2017 Formality
2016 Omei Sword
2015 Speak Fondly
2014 Bring Me The Maid
2013 Thump
2012 Nechita
2011 Pane In The Glass
2010 Parables
2009 Deer Valley
2008 Samantha Miss
2007 not held
2006 Gold Edition
2005 Mnemosyne
2004 Our Sweet Moss
2003 Regimental Gal
2002 Victory Vein
2001 Ha Ha
2000 Ateates
1999 Katima
1998 Crimson Flight
1997 Adeewin
1996 Cashier
1995 Seika
1994 Aragen
1993 Angst
1992 Skating
1991 Pipiwar
1990 Triscay
1989 Spirited Way
1988 Startling Lass
1987 Soda Springs
1986 Diamond Shower
1985 Shankhill Lass
1984 Satin Sand
1983 Purpose
1982 Rosebrook
1981 Black Shoes
1980 Moabite