Cockram Stakes Winners, Past Results & Latest News

Cockram Stakes run at the Caulfield Racecourse. Winners and past results of the Cockram Stakes

Winners and Past Results for the Cockram Stakes.

The WW Cockram Stakes is Group 3 sprint race only for mares four years old and over hosted by Melbourne Racing Club in August at Caulfield Racecourse in August every year.

The Cockram Stakes is a 1200 metre race held under set weight plus penalties with $150,000 offered to the winning connections.

The mares-only event attracts the more than handy females preparing for the forthcoming spring racing carnival in Melbourne. The Cockram Stakes suits classier mares who can take advantage of the set weight conditions. The Group 2 JJ Liston Stakes is also scheduled on the same day.

Mares may make their way from a number of handicap and Group races, while some may even come in from a spell. Fitness and freshness are key issues in selecting a winner while most mares use the event as a springboard to better feature races during the year. Mares have a number of options following the WW Cockram Stakes.

The classier mares engaged will be advantaged by the set weights conditions of the race and competitors in this event may go on to tackle similar type mares races like the 1400m Group 2 Let's Elope Stakes at Flemington Racecourse on Makybe Diva Stakes Day or the Group 3 How Now Stakes at Caulfield on Underwood Stakes Day later in the carnival.

The Cockram Stakes is a relatively new race with the first edition held as a listed race in 1992 and has remained a Group 3 event since 2005. Chillies in 1999, Dea in 2005, Storm Alert in 2006, and Rhythm In Paris are among the notable gallopers to win the Cockram Stakes.

Year Cockram Stakes Winners
2018 Ellicazoom
2017 Black Heart Bart
2016 Ocean Embers
2015 Madam Gangster
2014 Gregers
2013 Octavia
2012 Lady Melksham
2011 Mid Summer Music
2010 Rhythm In Paris
2009 Cat Whisker
2008 Princess Gisella
2007 Storm Signal
2006 Storm Alert
2005 Dea
2004 Strikeline
2003 Brief Embrace
2002 Pernod
2001 Libidinious
2000 Tickle My
1999 Chillies
1998 Spectrum
1997 Tonicity
1996 Street Talk
1995 Petite Amour
1994 Timeless Grace
1993 Party Dancer
1992 Pride Of Demus