Join Here

Join Sportingbet Australia

Add your favourite horses to your free Black Book and be notified of its next race start

Oakleigh Plate

Winners and Past Results for the Oakleigh Plate

Oakleigh Plate

Established in 1884, the Oakleigh Plate is a Group 1 Open Handicap race.

It is run over 1100 metres at the Caulfield Racecourse in February during the Melbourne Autumn Carnival with $400,000 prize money reserved for the winner.

Other major features hosted by the Melbourne Racing Club on the same day include the 1200 M Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes for 2 year olds, and the 1600 M Group 1 Futurity Stakes.

The Oakleigh Plate is considered to be the middle leg of the autumn sprinting series, with the first leg being the 1100 M Group 1 Lightning Stakes held at Flemington Racecourse on the last Saturday of January. The last leg of the autumn sprinting series is Australia's most famous sprint handicap, the 1200 M Group 1 Newmarket Handicap also held at Flemington in the first week of March.

The first Oakleigh Plate in 1884 was won by Malua, who was one of the most versatile horses in Australian Racing history. He won the Adelaide Cup, Newmarket Handicap, Melbourne Stakes, and Melbourne Cup all in same year as the Oakleigh Plate. He was inducted into the Australian Racing Hall of Fame in 2003.

Oakleigh Plate is known to attract a field of impressive sprinters every year. The winner of the Oakleigh Plate over the years has usually been a good but not an elite sprinter. The lead up races to consider are the 1100 M weight for age, Group 3 Rubiton Stakes, which is run on CF Orr Stakes Day at Caulfield Racecourse, and the Group 1 Lightning Stakes, a weight for age race over 1000 metres at Flemington Racecourse. In 1997, Sparticus won both the Rubiton Stakes and Oakleigh plate double, while in 2005, Fastnet Rock won the Lightning Stakes and Oakleigh Plate double.

Some horses may fancy their chances in the Oakleigh Plate after a run in the Group 1 weight for age, Australia Stakes, which is held at the same course and distance three weeks earlier. Good performers here, usually go on to compete in the 1200 M Group 1 Newmarket Handicap held at the Flemington Racecourse, usually held two weeks later. Weekend Hussler won this double in 2008.

The 2010 winner, Starspangledbanner, who won the 2009 Group 1 Yalumba Stakes, did go on to win the 2010 Group 1 Golden Jubilee Stakes and place third in the Newmarket Handicap in the same year. Other notable winners of the Oakleigh Plate include Wakeful in 1901, Power Duke in 1960, Placid Arc in 1987, Schillaci in 1992, and Snitzel in 2006.

2014 Oakleigh Plate

Lankan Rupee got away well, but it was Kuroshio and Minaj who won the race for the lead on settling and controlled the pace. These two strode out boldly as they approached the turn, with Lankan Rupee staying in touch, before Kuroshio and Minaj skipped clear in the straight and put a decent margin on their chasers. However, this effort could not be sustained and Lankan Rupee capitalised, flashing to the lead and going to the post in impressive fashion. Spirit Of Boom and Knoydart, who both raced well off the speed early, put in big finishes to take second and third.

2014 Oakleigh Plate result

1. Lankan Rupee
2. Spirit Of Boom
3. Knoydart

Then came:

4. Gregers
5. Flamberge
6. Dystopia
7. Shamal Wind
8. Karacatis
9. Bel Sprinter
10. Minaj
11. Kuroshio
12. General Truce
13. Vatican
14. Iconic
15. Richie's Vibe
16. Magnus Reign
17. Happy Galaxy
18. First Command

Year Oakleigh Plate Winners
2014 Lankan Rupee
2013 Mrs Onassis
2012 Woorim
2011 Eagle Falls
2010 Starspangledbanner
2009 Swiss Ace
2008 Weekend Hussler
2007 Undue
2006 Snitzel
2005 Fastnet Rock
2004 Reactive
2003 River Dove
2002 Sudurka
2001 Miss Kournikova
2000 Sports
1999 Dantelah
1998 Singing The Blues
1997 Spartacus
1996 Drum
1995 Khaptingly
1994 Kenvain
1993 Mookta
1992 Schillaci
1991 With Me
1990 Scarlet Bisque
1989 Clay Hero
1988 Snippets
1987 Placid Ark
1986 Coal Pak
1985 Mr. Illusion
1984 Mighty Avalanche
1983 Sans Rival
1982 Harpagus
1981 Gleaming Waters
1980 Turf Ruler
1979 Mistress Anne
1978 Hartbalm
1977 Merger
1976 Kentland
1975 Zephyr Bay
1974 Tontonan
1973 Zambari
1972 Dual Choice
1971 Dual Choice
1970 Alrello
1969 Iga Ninja
1968 Magic Ruler
1967 Marmion
1966 Citius
1965 Time And Tide
1964 Pardon Me
1963 Kilshery
1962 New Statesman
1961 Gay Saba
1960 Power Duke
1959 Gold Stakes
1958 Dubbo
1957 Adelina
1956 Lucky Stride
1955 Dicast
1954 Birdwood
1953 Winlake
1952 Cromwell
1951 Regal Scout
1950 Spitfire
1949 San Domenico
1948 Tahmoor
1947 Kind Link
1946 Delina
1945 Ava
1944 Burberry
1943 Millais
1942 High Title
1941 Zonda
1940 Unishak
1939 Aurie's Star
1938 Pamelus
1937 Aurie's Star
1936 Belle Silhouette
1935 Arachne
1934 First Money
1933 Ibrani
1932 Blematic
1931 Merab
First Arrow
1930 Figure
1929 Day Dreamer
1928 Euston
1927 Baringhup
1926 Perspective
1925 Adrift
1924 Royal Thought
1923 Chelidon
1922 Wish Wynne
1921 not held
1920 Molly's Robe
1919 Cielo
1918 Poitrina
1917 Woorak
1916 Tullia
1915 Brattle
1914 Popinjay
1913 Burri
1912 Queen Of Scots
1911 Blairgour
1910 Celerity
1909 Irishman
1908 Bright Steel
1907 Beresina
1906 Wandin
1905 Abington
1904 Silenus
1903 Pendant
1902 Drawbridge
1901 Wakeful
1900 Veneda
1899 Stand Off
1898 Resolute
1897 So And So
1896 Coil
1895 Wakawatea
1894 Moorite
1893 Lord Hopetoun
1892 Camoola
1891 Wild Rose
1890 Titan
1889 Nectarine
1888 My Lord
1887 Surprise
1886 William Tell
1885 Marie Louise
1884 Malua
Join Centrebet today Centrebet Free Bonus
Copyright © 2011 Pro Group Australia