Join Here

Join Sportingbet Australia

Add your favourite horses to your free Black Book and be notified of its next race start

Rough Habit Plate

Winners and Past Results for the Rough Habit Plate

Rough Habit Plate

One of the black type races for three year old horses held by Brisbane Racing Club during the winter racing carnival in May is the Group 3 Rough Habit Plate.

The 2020 metre race held at Doomben Racecourse offers a purse worth $125,000. Horses compete under set weight conditions on a day that includes the Group 1 BTC Cup. Other races scheduled on the day are the Group 3 Chairman's Handicap and the Listed Hampden Stakes. The event is the first middle distance race for three year olds during the winter carnival and is the perfect warm up for horses fancying their chances in the 2400 M Group 1 Queensland Derby at Eagle Farm Racecourse in June.

The Group 2 Gunsynd Classic has proved to be a handy form guide in recent times. The 1600 metre race held at Eagle Farm a fortnight earlier is usually the route that many horses before the Rough Habit Plate.

The event is held in honour of New Zealand Thoroughbred racehorse, Rough Habit, the winner of 11 Group 1 titles during his career which also included the Queensland Derby. It was first hosted by BRC as a listed race in 1996 and was promoted to Group 3 in 2006. Tenor is recorded as the first winner in 1996 while Dodge in 1998, Kincourt in 2000, and Russian Pearl in 2004 are among the notable stayers to win in recent times.

2013 Rough Habit Plate

As they jumped, it was Noogoora Burr who took the early lead while Hawkspur, ridden by Jimmy Cassidy, was settled in just behind the front-runner. The pace was on as they made their way through the race and several of the contenders flagged as they came into the straight, however Hawkspur was full of running when asked for extra effort on the run home and he soon put plenty of room between himself and the rest of the field. Hawkspur thrived in the wet conditions and had this race won a long way from home, eventually winning by three from Survived, who came home well after a poor run, with Usainity in third.

2013 Rough Habit Plate result

1. Hawkspur
2. Survived
3. Usainity

Then came:

4. Rowie
5. Lucky Lucky Lucky
6. Tonopah
7. Smiles For Layla
8. Excellent
9. Heater
10. New Spur
11. Noogoora Burr
12. Stuboy

Year Rough Habit Plate Winners
2013 Hawkspur
2012 Brambles
2011 Fillydelphia
2010 The Hombre
2009 Rockdale
2008 Mission Critical
2007 Empires Choice
2006 Belmonte
2005 Activation
2004 Russian Pearl
2003 Bob's Boy
2002 Distinctly Secret
2001 De Gaulle Lane
2000 Kincourt
1999 Figurehead
1998 Dodge
1997 Marble Halls
1996 Revenge
Copyright © 2011 Pro Group Australia