Join Sportingbet

Join Centrebet

Join Here

Join Centrebet

Rosehill Guineas

Winners and Past Results for the Rosehill Guineas

Rosehill Guineas

Half a million dollars are at stake in the Group 1 Rosehill Guineas hosted by the Australian Turf Club in March at Rosehill Racecourse.

The race is one of the prestigious black type events during the Sydney autumn racing carnival.

Three year old horses take to the field under set weight conditions in this 2000 metre event. The Rosehill Guineas has been held by over a century with many stars of the Australian turf etching their name on the title, which includes the might Phar Lap who launched his career with a stunning victory in the 1927 edition of the Rosehill Guineas. Ajax , Tulloch, Dulcify, Kingston Town, Octagonal, Naturalism, Danewin, and Tie The Knot are among the elite few to add the title during their glorious careers on the track.

For three year olds, the Rosehill Guineas is the ideal preparation for the 2400 M AJC Australian Derby that follows two weeks later. Over the years, seven winners have gone on to win the Derby. The last horse to oblige his connections in both events was the classy galloper, Eremein, in 2005.

The Rosehill Guineas remained a principal race between 1910 and 1979 after which Kingston Town won the first Group 1 edition. Punters may want to note that only three fillies have obliged ever since its inception in 1910.

2014 Rosehill Guineas

As they settled, Shamus Award and Puccini stole a march on the field and opened up quite a margin, while Criterion was parked worse than midfield. At the halfway mark, Puccini took up the lead on its own, with Teranado and Thunder Fantasy handy and Criterion working into the race as well, with jockey Hugh Bowman cutting the corner on the turn. This move worked a treat and Criterion streaked to the lead, with Teranado and Thunder Fantasy the only threats. However, Criterion kept running away from them and scored a big win over Thunder Fantasy and Teranado.

2014 Rosehill Guineas result

1. Criterion
2. Thunder Fantasy
3. Teranado

Then came:

4. Savvy Nature
5. Hooked
6. Dissident
7. Surge Ahead
8. Cadillac Mountain
9. Tupac Amaru
10. Show The World
11. Mr One Eleven
12. Puccini
13. Order Of The Sun
14. Shamus Award
15. Eyre Square

Year Rosehill Guineas Winners
2014 Criterion
2013 It's A Dundeel
2012 Laser Hawk
2011 Jimmy Choux
2010 Zabrasive
2009 Metal Bender
2008 Dealer Principle
2007 He's No Pie Eater
2006 De Beers
2005 Eremein
2004 Niello
2003 Helenus
2002 Carnegie Express
2001 Sale Of Century
2000 Diatribe
1999 Sky Heights
1998 Tie The Knot
1997 Tarnpir Lane
1996 Octagonal
1995 Danewin
1994 Star Of Maple
1993 Innocent King
1992 Naturalism
1991 Surfers Paradise
1990 Solar Circle
1989 Riverina Charm
1988 Sky Chase
1987 Ring Joe
1986 Drawn
1985 Spirit Of Kingston
1984 Alibhai
1983 Strawberry Road
1982 Isle Of Man
1981 Deck The Halls
1980 Kingston Town
1979 Dulcify
1978 not held
1977 Lefroy
1976 Fashion Beau
1975 Battle Sign
1974 Taras Bulba
1973 Imagele
1972 Longfella
1971 Latin Knight
1970 Royal Show
1969 Portable
1968 Royal Account
1967 Grey Spirit
1966 Dark Briar
1965 Fair Summer
1964 Eskimo Prince
1963 Castanea
1962 Bogan Road
1961 King Brian
1960 Wenona Girl
1959 Martello Towers
1958 Bold Pilot
1957 Tulloch
1956 Gay Lover
1955 Caranna
1954 Pride Of Egypt
1953 Silver Hawk
1952 Idlewild
1951 Hydrogen
1950 Careless
1949 Thracian Lad
1948 Royal Andrew
1947 Conductor
1946 Prince Standard
1945 Questing
1944 Tea Rose
1943 Moorland
1942 Hall Stand
1941 Laureate
1940 Tidal Wave
1939 High Caste
1938 Aeolus
1937 Ajax
1936 Shakespeare
1935 Hadrian
1934 Silver King
1933 Blixten
1932 Bronze Hawk
1931 Lightning March
1930 Balloon King
1929 Phar Lap
1928 Mollison
1927 Winalot
1926 Cromwell
1925 Amounis
1924 Nigger Minsrel
1923 All Sunshine
1922 Caserta
1921 Furious
1920 Wirriway
1919 Elfacre
1918 Woorawa
1917 Biplane
1916 Wolaroi
1915 Wallace Isinglass
1914 Carlita
1913 Beau Soult
1912 Burri
1911 Woolerina
1910 Electric Wire
Join Centrebet
Copyright © 2011 Pro Group Australia